Panasonic TH-42PWD6 - Looking for cards & advice !

ndoherty

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Before I start – please note that I am a complete newbie – so apologies for dumb questions!

I have an old Panasonic TH-42PWD6 which just the PC input. I don't have any cards in any of the slots at all.

I would like to use the TV with standard Sky (cable) box or a HD box – and connect DVD player etc.. So I am looking for recommendations on cards/blades I need. Cost is a factor here – it’s an old TV and there is not a lot of point paying few hundred for parts.

FYI I am based in Ireland. Anyone know if Panasonic will ship parts to Ireland / UK – or if there is a UK parts company I should contact?

Firstly how do I know which plasma “series” I have, as I see that newer boards cannot retrofit into previous plasma series. I assume the WD6 – refers to series 6? I ask because I seen a post where they say that all models in the 6-7-8-9 series were 720p models. And so there is no advantage in picture quality in going digital vs. component for non-1080p models. Is this correct?

COMPONENT:
Can I use the component RCA board input - for either sky box or dvd – not exactly sure what connections are on this?

Again I have seen posts mention : BNC Component Video Terminal Board, a RCA Component Video Terminal Board or a Composite / Component Video Terminal Board? Which do I need and where would you recommend I get these?
Anyone got a part number that is compatible for my model –or where I can check this? Panasonic's online model search didn't recognize my model ??

I have seen recommendations for this device – HDfury HDfury. From what I see it connects to RGB display and then performs HDCP decryption and HDMI to RGB conversion.
Can I use this – any limits or recommendations?
Do I just connect this to a component input?

HDMI:
Some users have recommended HDMi cards/blades – part model TY-FB8HM.