1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic TH 42PW7

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by gazgits, Nov 17, 2004.

1. gazgits

gazgits

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi all, complete beginner here trying to learn about which plasma to purchase, I was initially intrested in the hitachi 5200 as i believe it is HD ready
    but I have now been advised on the panasonic model mentioned above. Is the PAN HD ready, its pixel count is listed as 852 x 840 where the HIT is a lot higher. Any answers would be greatly appreciated

Thankyou

2. zedzed

zedzed

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    The HIT is an alis panel - which means it's an interlaced device (hence why it looks like it's got a lot of pixels). IIRC it's not HD compatible.

The PW7 is not a HD panel, but will accept HD signals.

ZedZed

3. gazgits

gazgits

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks for your reply but now i'm really confused. Could you ans these questions if possible

1) Whats an ALIS screen.
    2) Does the HIT have the same res as the PAN then
    3) In What plasma & lcd tv the HIT 5200 comes top in a group test which is specificaly for High Definition TV so surely it must be HD ready

thanks once again.

4. peezee

peezee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here are some common misconceptions about these ALiS screens:

1- 1024x1024 ALiS panels only have in fact 512 lines - WRONG

2- ALiS panels are not HD compatible - WRONG

3- All ALiS based plasma screens produce mediocre image quality - WRONG

I won't go into any explanations here again (I've done so several times in other topics) but I thought it had to be said, because of the repeated misinformation one can find on this Panasonic-centric forum.