1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic Tau 36"

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by pglayfield, Nov 17, 2001.

1. pglayfield

pglayfield

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

Does anyone if the Panasonic TX36PB50 and the TX36PG50 have all the same features except the way they deal with the centre and front speakers.

As far as I can see they are the same TV except for styling, but just trying to make sure.

Paul

2. marvin1

marvin1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    the pb can display in 16/9 and 14/9.
    the pg can only display 16/9
    I think thats about it.

3. pglayfield

pglayfield

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks marvin

Because I am new to all this, can you explain what uses programmes would require 14/9.
    I do not watch analogue TV at all.

4. Nick Drew

Nick Drew

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have to correct Marvin1 as I have a 36PG50 and it does display 14x9 image.

When questioning the PG series bad reputation compared to the PB ranges glowing reviews and awards in various magazines a Panasonic engineer told he didn't understand why because ''they have the same chassis''.

It's only a cosmetic change apparently. But i'm sure there are those who will disagree!

5. marvin1

marvin1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been trying to decide which panasonic to buy myself. On visiting the panasonic shop last week, they gave me the new product specification form for 2001/2002.
    The only difference in the spec form was that the pg didn't do 14/9 and weighs 4.5 kg more.
    I'm not sure if this also applies to the 36inch, but, when I emailed panasonic about the differences between 32pb and 32pg they replied that the 32pg has 2 tuners and the the 32pb one.