1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic Series 5 (6) variations

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by villaceltic, Jul 22, 2003.

1. villaceltic

villaceltic
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone explain to me, as a total novice, what the variations are in the model numbers for the Panasonic 5 series. So far I've seen a TH -42 PW5B, D5, D5V and HD5. The guy in the @panasonic shop tried to tell me that different retailers might add their own variations to the model number but that basically there was just 2 and that was all they would be stocking as per manufacturers 'numbering'. I said that I thought that the HD derivative was high def but he looked at me blankly.

Basically having read most of the Panasonic 6 threads I'm more than interested but don't really now know which is the model I should be looking for (and am totally lost when it comes to the various connections). Again the guy in the shop thought that the 6 was coming with a built in tuner but later said that if I wanted to avoid all of the cabling from the various components that I should buy the Panasonic tuner (£500) and plug everything in the back of that.

I basically am after one that I can hook up to the Pace box, DVD, terrestrial TV (or is that a no-go) and use my existing Receiver/Speakers for the sound. (the Skybox also outputs to 4 other TV's around the house so if I rely on that as my only form of 'TV' it will presumably mean that everyone will have to watch whatever Sky is set to on that plasma - for the sky channel at least)

Any advice for the plasma set up novice?

Cheers

Macca

2. pwarren

pwarren

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Macca