• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Panasonic SD700 or TM700

Cobb

Distinguished Member
I'm looking to buy my 1st HD camcorder. At first i wasn't going to spend over £400 but now i'm thinking i'd rather buy something that i won't want to upgrade for a long time.

I bought an iMac a few weeks ago and i've been reading that a lot of camcorders arn't that compatible. I think most editing will be done on iMovie 09 and eventually i'll venture into something a bit more serious like Final Cut etc

Looking around on Youtube i really like the look of the SD700 and TM700. Is there much of a difference between the two? Currys are doing the SD700 for £729 and the TM700 for around £776 so i'm wondering if the extra £40 odd is worth it.

I'm a complete camcorder novice so any input would be great!

Cheers

senu

Distinguished Member
I think the only difference is that the TM has internal memory you can record to
The advantage is that if you run out of removable memory you can use it
I think its worth the extra given how much your outlay is already

Im unsure i movie can cope with it at 1080/50p

rob12770

Banned
I'm looking to buy my 1st HD camcorder. At first i wasn't going to spend over £400 but now i'm thinking i'd rather buy something that i won't want to upgrade for a long time.

I bought an iMac a few weeks ago and i've been reading that a lot of camcorders arn't that compatible. I think most editing will be done on iMovie 09 and eventually i'll venture into something a bit more serious like Final Cut etc

Looking around on Youtube i really like the look of the SD700 and TM700. Is there much of a difference between the two? Currys are doing the SD700 for £729 and the TM700 for around £776 so i'm wondering if the extra £40 odd is worth it.