1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic SC-HT870

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Anthall, Dec 13, 2004.

  1. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi,

    Looking to buy the above today. Does anyone know if it has progreesive
    and component inputs.

    The first response wins a prize.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    Well i shall reply to myself then.
    I ended up purchasing this model and im well happy
    with it. Good deep base, clear sound and a nice picture.

    Recommend as an under £300 system

    Ta
     
  3. dave0523

    dave0523
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +1
    Many thanks for your info Ant - I'll be buying one this afternoon if I can bear the hordes of people!
     
  4. Frazal666

    Frazal666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    does this have an optical input?
     
  5. dave0523

    dave0523
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm about to install it; I will let you know.

    I don't think it has, but I could be wrong!
     
  6. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    Well major, did ya like it?
     
  7. ste_d73

    ste_d73
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I know this machine has component outputs....but is it PAL Progressive for region 2 discs...?
     
  8. paulsingh78

    paulsingh78
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello guys,
    ive just registered!.. ive found a lot of the things ive read extremely helpful.. a great site..
    now.. on to my problems.. :D

    ive just purchased the Samsung PS42 S4S plasma. all us well apart from the lip sync problem. sky channels are out of sync with the audio coming from my Panny home theatre. ive had a look at the delay setting on the HT system, t there are only VIDEO delays 0ms - 100ms!! :eek:
    the delay is with the picture on the plasma- i.e. the audio from the theatre system arrives before the lips on the screen move!!.. ah man, this is way too annoying.

    how on earth can i solve this?
    could i connect the components is a different way to help the sync problem?

    what would be ideal, is a delay for the sound coming from my home theatre speakers. but i dont think theres a setting for that! :(
    if anyone knows of a setting that ive overlooked and am totally unaware of.. grab me by the shoulders violently shake me around.. and tell me what to do... ;)

    please please help this newbie!
    anyone...
    many thanks..

    Paul
     
  9. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    It's not PAL progressive for region 2 no!

    But when linked to my viera, i connect with component
    and turn the Prog scan on the dvd to 'off'.

    The picture quality like this is damned good.

    I was worried that i wouldn't be doing progressive scan
    and so almost didn't buy, but am happy now. The picture
    using the components alone satisfy's my appertite.

    The de-interlacer in the panel does all the work.
     
  10. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    Paul,

    Can you not put the maximum delay on each of the speakers using the
    test signal pattern. Im afraid to my eye, the sound comes at the right time for me!

    The only thing that im struggling with is speaker placement within the
    room, is't not diffuse enough!
     
  11. paulsingh78

    paulsingh78
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for the reply Anthall
    I'll certainly try that when i get home..
    ive heard there a lipsync problem because plasma tvs take a bit of time to process the image etc. which is why the picture appears slightly behind the sound.. but why is it that sound from the tv speakers is perfectly in sync.. but its only the sound from the home theatre thats out of sync?
     
  12. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    Im afraid i dont know the answer to that one.

    But let us know if ya find an answer.

    Have fun.

    Ant
     
  13. paulsingh78

    paulsingh78
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ant, so your TV speakers are out of sync?
    maybe i should try connecting the home theatre system audio cables directly to the back of the TV instead of to the SKY digibox
    i.e.
    sky-->tv-->HT system
    instead of
    sky-->HT system--> tv (current set up)

    this way the HT system should recieve the same audio signal passing through the tv speakers.... (shouldnt it??) :(
     
  14. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    I just moved into a new place so am only watching dvd and freeview digital.
    Maybe i will have the same problem when i get sky?

    But i cant notice any lip sync delay at the moment.
     
  15. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    With regards to the SCHT-870, was anyone linked either a dvd recorder
    or a video recorder to it so that it uses the home cinema to output
    the sound.

    Iv'e started to get frustrated with this.

    Please help, please.

    Im a sexy 5ft5" blonde girl, if that helps.

    :blush:
     

Share This Page

Loading...