1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic PW7 set-up help for newbie

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by CraigB, Jan 8, 2005.

1. CraigB

CraigB

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm new to plasmas but after reading many articles and posts on this forum I reckon I will go for the Panasonic PW7 from Richer Sounds at £1200. I will be connecting my Telewest cable box to a DVD recorder (probably Panasonic DMRE55) then onto the plasma.

I have searched the forum for various information but I'd be grateful for clarification on a few things:

Q1. I plan to connect my DVDR to the plasma via a Component cable so that I get the benefit of progressive scan from the DVDR, this will require the relevant terminal. Is it true that by connecting in this way I will lose the PiP function on the plasma?

Q2. If the above is true (and PiP is a feature I would like) then I will connect via a JS RGB2VGA converter, thus eliminating the need for the terminal. However, I believe that by doing this it stops me from adjusting the colour on the plasma. How big a deal is this? (I realise this will be personal preference but I'd like a rough idea anyway).

Q3. At present I do not have an AV amp, presumably I will require one in order to output the audio from the cable box and the DVDR? Richer Sounds have a Pioneer VSXC301 for £120, is this any good for my set-up? If not then please suggest an alternative with a max price of £150. NB - initially I will only be connecting L+R speakers and a sub-woofer, but eventually I hope to get 5.1.

Q4. If I have to introduce an amp to my set-up, should I run the video output from the DVDR through it as well or is that just creating the need for an extra cable?