1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic PW6

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by philp_i, Aug 3, 2005.

  1. philp_i

    philp_i
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a panasonic PW6 plasma with a scart and component board, i have always been very happy with the picture even though i have never used component, im about to swap this plasma with a m8 who wont be happy unless he is getting the best possible picture from it.

    So what im asking is they any way to get a better picture watching SKY and dvds? or any thing else you can buy?

    Would changing to sky+ give you any better options? whats the best possibe picture you have on the panasonic pw6.

    Many thanks
     
  2. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,118
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Hi

    You can achieve better picture quality than the SCART board by using the VGA input.

    To do this, you will need some kind of sync separator such as a Keene Syncblaster cable or the highly (over)evangelised JS Technology RGB>VGA converter.

    If you go this route, you will lose auto widescreen switching which will require shelling out another £100 to fix.

    I would say though that if your mate is 'normal' - in other words, not the kind of person who frequents these forums, he will probably be absolutely fine with the SCART board!

    Sky+ adds an S-video output, and Dolby Digital capabilities. Neither of which will impact on the picture quality of your panel.

    Regards,

    Steve
     
  3. Parklife

    Parklife
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    For Sky get a JS Tech RGB to VGA converter. This will then plug directly into the VGA input on the back. Great improvement over the scart board.

    DVD via component would also give a better pic than scart.

    For the ultimate get is professionally calibrated. If you could not stretch to that a DVE disk should improve the picture quality.
     
  4. philp_i

    philp_i
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi After reading various threads on this forum last night im amazed at different options available on this screen.

    Could someone please tell me where i could get a JS Tech RGB to VGA converter? am i right in thinking this will only work with a sky box with RBG?

    Also m8 could you explain in a bit more detail to what this involves as im still a beginer

    For the ultimate get is professionally calibrated. If you could not stretch to that a DVE disk should improve the picture quality.

    Many thnaks for your help.
     
  5. philp_i

    philp_i
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just noticed that i have a composite board instead of a componenet so i now need a component board, i phoned the shop where i bought the plasma from but they dont sell them, does anyone know where i can get a component terminal board from?

    Also is my composite one worth anything?

    Last thing where do you buy a DVE disk from?
     
  6. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +617
  7. philp_i

    philp_i
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im swapping so i can get the best possibe picture from my plasma, how does this converter work?whats the scrat input on the inverter for?
     
  8. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    i think he meant what screen are you swapping it for mate!...look at the js web site it explains everything for you...Giz gave the link above
     
  9. philp_i

    philp_i
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol sorry. Is this the converter i need for my sky+ box? Im reading website now so hopefully the stupid question will stop sometime soon.
     
  10. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +617
    you go sky+->rgb scart->RGB to Component (YUV) Video Converter->3phono to vga cable->vga input on PW6.

    Tell your plasma that the vga input has component coming in rather than RGB.
     
  11. philp_i

    philp_i
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What advantage would this rgb-Component converter to me over the VGA to plasma converter from the same place?
     
  12. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +617

    To quote myself from a post just above :D
     
  13. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +617
    And what are you swapping for?
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    but there are advantages to each the RGBcvS to YUV transcoder is a more complex process than the RGBcvS to RGBHV (actaully RGBS) conversion which just cleans up the sync and doesnt touch the Red green Blue colour info the only need for colour control is to correct issues with the source equipment which can be done with calibration of the screen.............
     
  15. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +617
    Very true, the VGA transcoder was definitly slightly better than the YUV one, but if you don't want to go in the service menu the YUV may be a better bet.

    I still want to know what screen he is going for? :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...