1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic PW6 VGA or Component Card

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by bbasra, Jun 16, 2005.

  1. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,600
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +34
    I am going to upgrade my setup to component now and am going to buy the JS technology RGB to YUV converter.

    My plasma only has a scart and vga input, no component card.

    my setup will be as follows:

    Progressive Scan DVD player Component YUV into Denon 3805 YUV Input 1

    SKY+ RGB SCART to RGB SCART into JS Tech Convertor and then JS Tech YUV into Denon 3805 YUV Input 2

    My issue now is:

    Do i buy a new Component Card for plasma slot 2 and connect a YUV cable to YUV to the YUV ouput from the Denon and into this new card?

    OR

    Can i use the VGA input on my plasma and buy a Component (3x Phono) to VGA cable. Basically Connect the 3 x phono to my Denon YUV output and into the VGA into the plasma?

    I know i will get progressive/component with the first solution, however, will it be the same if i use the second option.

    TIA's.
     
  2. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    as far as i know you can do component to vga on the 6 series.....they nobbled it thereafter.
     
  3. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,600
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +34
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    looks like it will do the job and you'll need to set the vga input to component on the panny and I don't know which dvd player you have but the panasonic may do a better job of prog scan anyway
     
  5. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,600
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +34
    I have the Pioneer DVD 575 Player. I just used this cable as an example.

    Do you know where i can get a decent component to vga cable from. i need it to be 5m.

    and how do i change the vga input to component.
     
  6. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    you could try av-sales (they make up van damme cables and others) or look in the cables section here for Mark Grant who makes cables (not sure if he does vga though). To change your settings just go to teh right input and change it in setup
     

Share This Page

Loading...