1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic PW6 problem

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by geeWcee, Dec 1, 2004.

  1. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    My mate just bought a PW6 and he seems to be having a problem with it.
    He is getting faint diagonal lines running across the picture constantly (both sky and DVD sources - scart and composite)
    To be honest when I went to have a look I didnt really notice it until I was sat a metre from the screen, but it seems to be bugging his girlfriend more than him. So he notices it all the time now.... :rolleyes:

    Is this a known issue with PW6's or a faulty set?
     
  2. Leigh_1973

    Leigh_1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    You should have the answers for him, you have a PW7! :laugh: :smashin:
     
  3. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,118
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Hi

    Sounds like it could be dodgy / cheap SCART leads.

    How is it all wired up?

    Steve
     
  4. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Leigh: picture is fine on my PW7, it doesnt exhibit the diagonal line problem, cheeky! ;)

    Steve: I knew he would have cheap nasty interconnects so I took all my top quality cables over and it still made little difference. Sky connected up via scart and DVD thru composite.
     
  5. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,118
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Hmm

    Most likely cause is an earth loop.

    Is the plasma connected to the same power sockets as the rest of his kit.

    He should try disconnecting everything apart from the video cables - in particular it's worth removing any audio leads temporarliy.

    Steve
     
  6. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Yes, he runs everything from the same power outlet...
    I'll let him know and see if trying what you suggest helps. Cheers.
     
  7. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,118
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Hi

    The Sky boxes tend to run with quite a "hot" chassis. Often 80 or more volts when measured relative to ground.

    It might be worth grounding the Sky box. To do this, get a reasonably hefty bit of wire and wrap it around the F connector on the back of the Sky box.

    Connect the other end to mains earth.

    Steve
     
  8. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Many thanks for your suggestions stevelup, my mate solved his problem today and is well chuffed with his plasma once again ;-)
     
  9. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,118
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    What did the problem turn out to be?

    Steve
     
  10. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Turned out to be the sky box. When he takes it out of the system every other source is fine. Plug sky back in and it causes the interference.
    Anyway, he says he got it sorted so once again thanks steve.
     
  11. spook

    spook
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    geeWcee, can you ask your friend how he sorted this problem?

    cheers, Spook
     
  12. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Will do spook. I will get back to you on it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...