1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic PV500 - do i need a scaler?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by skips, May 21, 2005.

1. skips

skips

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

Firstly, may i appologise if this has already been covered.

I wonder if you could help me please.
    I have been trying to dig my way out of a heap of confusion for ages now, and I would like to ask for some help.
    I am hoping to buy a Plasma screen soon, to go into a new house. I have been recommended several times to the Panasonic panel as it offers the best picture (I am an editor in TV and so I guess I am pretty picky about quality)
    I also want it to be fairly (as best it can be) future proof, ie HD ready.
    The TH42PV500 is probably the one for me! However that is where my certainties end.
    Ideally would like to wall mount the panel and so the minimal amount of cables connecting to it would be great, so I thought I’d use the HDMI input.
    So I would need a switcher of some kind? Also, I have been recommended to get a video processor of some kind.

My setup is something like this.

KISS DP-500 DVD (would like to use the progressive out, and also will probably replace this with a HDMI recorder when they come out later in the year)
    Philips DVDR-75 (again this would be replaced by a HDMI recorder later)
    VHS VCR
    Sky (would like this to be replaced with a HDMI Sky HD when releases)

I have a Sony AV receiver, and various audio devices.
    I wonder if you could recommend the best way I can integrate the Panasonic panel into my setup, what, if any scalers I would need, although I guess I’ll need a scaler with 2 dvi/hdmi inputs as the sky HD and DVD will utilise these. I did look at the Denon AVCA11XV however, I don’t think that the HDMI output goes above 570p, and I have read that the processors aren’t particularly good in it.