1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic PV500. Burning?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by BenchyUK, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. BenchyUK

    BenchyUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    20,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +1,818
    I am very new to all of these so please give me a chance.

    I am thinking about getting a Panasonic PV500 Plasma instead of the D500 LCD.

    The thing i am worried about is burning. I know this is common in plasmas but how bad does it get. I heard that it's amnly logos and black bars at the top and bottom of the screens.

    Do they dissapear? How long after? Is it a safer bet to go for a LCD?
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    its mostly fiction, panasonic are the most resistantand shouldnt be a major concern in a choice of display
     
  3. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    See here

    Retention disappears, if you leave it for long enough you may be unlucky and get burn in but this is rare on the newer big name screens, as you can see by the poll.
     
  4. zixer

    zixer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aye, I was a bit worried to start with when I saw the shadow of Eurosport.
    It goes away after a day.
    Don't worry about it.
     
  5. NWhiteley

    NWhiteley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,009
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Westhoughton
    Ratings:
    +93
    hi HD... screen burn on the PHD8 isnt unknown, i think i have some, its the start button from the very bottom left of the windows xp start up screen, its come to the piont where i have reverted to my 19 lcd screen for my online work. the screen burn has been present for the last 2 weeks, and while it has faded, i dont think it will disappear totally
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    hmm perhaps the the new HD glass isnt as resiliant as the older glass but dropping the program bar off the desktopis a good idea
     
  7. BenchyUK

    BenchyUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    20,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +1,818
    It sounds better to go for a LCD?
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    not if you value PQ and VFM
     
  9. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +135
    ive watched loads of films with black bars including some pretty long ones like lotr and never had a problem with burning. same as sky never had any trouble with channel logos
     
  10. orange66

    orange66
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you know, when I saw the thread title, I thought this was going to be a hung-my-plasma-above-the-fireplace-and-it-melted, kind of thread.
     
  11. Ibizaonice

    Ibizaonice
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Oslo,Norway
    Ratings:
    +14
    wow you are funny, do you want a cookie now ??
     
  12. Thekop

    Thekop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    Ratings:
    +49
    I don't know what everyone is moaning about, but I had my 42" PV500 Yesterday afternoon and all i can say is "WOW WOW WOW" Truly awesome.. :thumbsup: :D
     
  13. Ibizaonice

    Ibizaonice
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Oslo,Norway
    Ratings:
    +14

    Tehkop is it big ?, I mean is the screen big. I'm having so much trouble deciding either Pioneer 436XDE or the PV500. The 436 looks nice but I think PV500 is stronger and bigger aka more powerful performance. What do you think :)
     
  14. Thekop

    Thekop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    Ratings:
    +49
    I love it to bits. It seems like much better value than the Pioneer ( Considering the amount of add-ons you need for the XDE ).The size - from say a "32" - is quite an eye opener... I think it's gorgeous in everyway.. The only niggling thing is the ease of switching AV channels, It can be confusing. But apart from that - Go for it, you will not regret the VIERA choice ! :thumbsup:
     
  15. Ibizaonice

    Ibizaonice
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Oslo,Norway
    Ratings:
    +14
    Ok great :smashin: it's good to hear that you are happy with your Viera ! I actually got a 32'' Panasonic Widescreen now so I think the 42'' PV500 will satisfy me..

    I have not seen the PV500 in real life, but I have seen 436 and I think it's very beautiful, but so is the pictures I have seen from pv500, but the most important thing is the picture quality. And I don't need 2 hdmi connections, because I live in Oslo,Norway so High Def via Satellite has not arrived yet. Well one Channel (Canal+ HD). Xbox 360 will go threw component and I will use the HDMI port for Denon 1920. Then i sell it when Blue Ray/HD-DVD arrives !.

    Are you using the original stand or do you have it on the wall ?
     
  16. Thekop

    Thekop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    Ratings:
    +49
    I reckon you could fit a cigarette paper between the two sets in picture quality. The first thing that struck me was the smoothness and stability of the Panasonic. Blacks are blacks and the colours are dazzling - but not exaggerated. If you check my system in my profile, you'll see I have a Denon DVD -3910 - but even with Sky digital it's lovely .. I know what you're saying about the choice, but the Panasonic seems like the better set and the better value in my opinion :smashin:

    I'm using the set top stand so you can put it on any AV stand you desire ! :)

    I have to finish with a huge :D
     
  17. Ibizaonice

    Ibizaonice
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Oslo,Norway
    Ratings:
    +14
    Ok, lol then you are a rich man I must say ! 42 VIERA plasma + Denon 3910 + Sky Digital box (or something) ++ Nice stand damn ! I can't afford 3910, but the 1920 is pretty good too. The 3910 is like 11000+ Nok (1000£)


    So Thekop I bet that picture looks awsome with the Denon 3910.. Are you using Monster Hdmi cabel ? Are you going to buy Xbox 360 for it ! :thumbsup:
     
  18. Thekop

    Thekop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    Ratings:
    +49
    I use the QED HDMI-P lead. It's superbly detailed and natural. I'm not rich at all.. I just like the best things in life, when and where I can get them. Although obviously with hard work and an understanding wife :D

    The Xbox 360 is THE console to get. I'm sure to have it hooked up to my PV500 from time to time :smashin:
     
  19. Ibizaonice

    Ibizaonice
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Oslo,Norway
    Ratings:
    +14
    Well the wife part is very nice ! How can someone complaine about this set ? This is a very wife friendly set isn't it :)

    I love hifi myself, some people like cars, some people like Audio and Video equipments. Project Gotham Racing will look fabulous on this screen.

    But thanks for the info and help. I'm gonna stick with this set

    Cheers :thumbsup: :D
     
  20. mal60908

    mal60908
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Panny 32" CRT (TX-32PF10) which I consider to be a pretty good CRT and the PV500 doesn't fail to impress.
    The freeview isn't fantastic from close up, but I sit either 8 feet or 15 feet away and have no problems.
     
  21. orange66

    orange66
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hands the sarcasm muffin to.....
     

Share This Page

Loading...