1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic PTAE 700

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Andyvtrm, Feb 1, 2005.

  1. Andyvtrm

    Andyvtrm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    Can anyone tell me if the above projectors HDMI socket is HDCP compatible?
    TIA
    Andy M
     
  2. Member 14847

    Member 14847
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
  3. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    Hi Ken,

    Do you know if the fittings are the same as the 500 (for Ceiling mounting)
     
  4. Member 14847

    Member 14847
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    I'll have to look into that tomorrow. The 700 is larger and heavier than the 500 but the fixing points may be the same. I'll get back to you.
     
  5. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    Thanks Ken :thumbsup:
     
  6. Member 14847

    Member 14847
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    The fixing points on the 500 and 700 are the same so unless you have an unusual bracket it should be a straight swap.
     
  7. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    Ken,

    As a dealer how would you compare the Panny 700 to the Sony HS50?

    Thanks,

    Cap :)
     
  8. Member 14847

    Member 14847
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    Hmm, I'm not sure I would. The Sony is £4-500 more expensive than the Panasonic depending on where you shop. So, if you’re comparing these two, where do you stop? We've added 40% to the budget to move from the 700 to the HS50. We could then add another 40% and look at a BenQ then a Sharp Z2000. The problem is where do you draw the line? Speaking literally the HS50 may be the better machine. Speaking relatively the Panasonic is a lot cheaper therefore better value for money in the eyes of some people.

    The trouble is, the more you move up the money ladder the better the projector you can buy. Until very recently I owned a Sanyo PLV-Z3, I've also owned the Panasonic but now I've moved up the money ladder and bought a machine better than both.
     
  9. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    Nice summary.

    Thanks ken. Swings and roundabouts I suppose. Its a buyers market, thats for sure.

    All the best,

    Cap :)
     
  10. foghorn

    foghorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +22
    Ken,

    Out of interest what did you buy?

    Foghorn
     
  11. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    I reckon he went for an AE100 :)

    he he he.

    Cap.
     
  12. Member 14847

    Member 14847
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    Erm, it's moving a little off thread topic here but I've got a ProjectionDesign Action Model One Mk II with a Lumagen HDP. I kept added 40% until my plastic pal feinted.
     
  13. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    Thanks for your help Ken :smashin:

    Adrenochrome.
     
  14. Andyvtrm

    Andyvtrm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Ivojo for the HDMI info. Are all HDMI sockets HDCP compatible by design?
    AndyM
     
  15. Member 14847

    Member 14847
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    All the HDMI equipped components we've come across integrate HDCP, however hdmi.org is a little vague on this using terms like "HDMI, when used in combination with HDCP...." and "HDCP is not licensed by HDMI Licensing, LLC, but by Digital Content Protection....".

    Another interesting point is that HDMI Licencing who control testing procedures for the HDMI standard - and too whom all manufacturers must submit sample units before they can use the HDMI logo - do not at this time test for HDCP compliance, it's done by another company (PanelLink Cinema (PLC) Partners). Whenever PLC refer to their tests, they refer to HDCP separately from HDMI i.e. “as well as interoperability ("plug-testing") between HDMI-HDCP devices from different manufacturers”. This may imply that the two do not necessarily need to go together, or it may imply that there are too many lawyers involved in writing this stuff.

    There are a couple of reasons why these “official” sites might not explicitly state that HDMI is not required to include HDCP (please bear in mind that this is late night conjecture and probably bears no relation to reality):

    1. Purely licensing. The guys in control of HDCP may require that it’s mentioned explicitly.
    2. Tying the two together too closely may be seen to prohibit or complicate future copy protection systems.
    3. HDMI could be used as a computer interface instead of DVI, HDCP being redundant in this capacity.
    4. I haven’t come across the bit where it say’s HDMI requires HDCP.
    5. It’s late at night and I’ve only been reading every third word on these sites.

    Like I say, late night conjecture. I haven’t read the complete HDMI specs as you have to register to download them and also register to download the HDCP specs. It’s interesting that HDMI is free but HDCP required a $15,000 fee + royalties.
     
  16. Andyvtrm

    Andyvtrm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Ivojo for your detailed reply. I'm deciding on my first projector and would want to feed it with Sky Hi Def when it's available so needed to know the specs on the new connections. I'm looking at getting the PTAE 700 which seems good for the price would you agree?
    Andy M
     
  17. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    I am more than happy with my AE700 (without a demo) but as many people say, it may worth putting in the effort for a demo.
     
  18. Member 14847

    Member 14847
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    The 700 is a great machine for the price. The only caveat I'd put on that is the vertical banding you may have seen mentioned in the forums. I think I'm right in saying that no one has managed to narrow this down to a particular cause. Either some people are more sensitive to it than others or there are particular circumstances under which the banding shows up. We have pixel checked every single 700 we have sold without seeing this problem however one customer asked if we could swap his machine out as the banding was particularly annoying to him. We had the machine collected and tested it here with a selection of films he had told us about and managed to see the banding if we searched for it in only one scene of one film and then I’d have to say we wouldn’t have noticed it if we weren’t looking for it.

    The upshot here is that the 700 is a fantastic projector but has this one niggling issue that is not consistent enough for a “universal” work around.

    I would say in view of the above that it may be worth considering the Sanyo PLV-Z3 as I have yet to hear of any problems with vertical banding, it has better lens shift (although a shorter zoom range) and a rather longer warranty.
     
  19. gatkinso

    gatkinso
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know if there is a compatible wall mount for the PT-AE700? I thought it may look better than a wood or glass shelf. I could use a generic TV mounting bracket but one with the correct holes for the Panasonic would be better

    Thanks
     
  20. Member 14847

    Member 14847
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    The Unicol Gyrolock mounts can be ceiling or wall mounted.
     
  21. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    I had my unicol gyrolock mount inverted and used on the wall rather than the ceiling. very heavy duty, may need an extra pair of hands to fix it as they are quite heavy.

    Well built though.

    Cap :)
     
  22. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    sorry for the late bump (was checking if the AE700 was HDCP compatible)

    Someone mentioned it uses the same mounting holes as the AE500 - how about the AE100? I have a ceiling mount that I'd like to keep if possible. Are the holes and throw the same?
     
  23. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    Hi Richard,

    The mounting holes are indeed the same :thumbsup:

    Although you will need to use the lens shift on the 700 as the lens is in a different position to the 100.

    Adrenochrome.
     

Share This Page

Loading...