Panasonic PT850 - how two connect to TV

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Blacktigger72, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. Blacktigger72

    Blacktigger72
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

    Can i get some expert advise on connecting. I'm a novice and don't wanna pay someone to connect this up.

    I will be getting a Panasonic Pt850 and already have a LG 42L/F66 and Sky+ box.
    How will i need to connect these items to get full surround sound.

    Spec of TV
    http://www.comet.co.uk/cometbrowse/product.do?sku=391174&tab=specification#spec

    Spec of PT850
    http://www.comet.co.uk/cometbrowse/product.do?sku=393584&tab=specification#spec

    At the moment i have 2 scart from TV to Sky+ Box to TV and old DVD to TV.
    What after leads will i need to buy to have good sound & Pic

    Can you help please
     
  2. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192


    Sky+ >> SCART>>TV
    Sky+ >> OPTICAL >> 850
    850 >> HDMI >> TV
     
  3. keri-wales

    keri-wales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Im brand new to this site and certainly not a 'techy', Im amazed how much information you guys have!!!

    Please can you help me???

    Apologies if this is the wrong plae to post?

    I got the Panasonic SCPT850 today and I am trying to set it up with my Toshiba 47z3030db LCD and also Virgin +. Please can you tell me the best way to configure it???

    Ive looked through many excellent posts on this site but havent found one that exactly matches my situation!!!

    Grateful for any advice you can offer!

    :lease:
    Many thanks in advance

    Keri
     
  4. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192
    Has your virgin box got 'optical out'
     
  5. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192
    What sockets have you got on the virgin box??
     
  6. keri-wales

    keri-wales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah, there is an optical out!
     
  7. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192
    850 >> HDMI >> TV
    Virgin >> SCART >> TV
    Virgin >> OPTICAL >> 850

    To listen to virgin box via 850 press 'EXT-IN' on remote to display 'D-IN'
     
  8. keri-wales

    keri-wales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    can I go panny 850 - TV with HDMI
    V+ box - Panny 850 with Optical cabe and HDMI
     
  9. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192
    Does virgin box have a HDMI then?
     
  10. keri-wales

    keri-wales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
  11. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192
    Ok do this it way, assuming your Tv has 2 hdmi's


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    850 >> HDMI >> TV
    Virgin >> HDMI >> TV
    Virgin >> OPTICAL >> 850

    To listen to virgin box via 850 press 'EXT-IN' on remote to display 'D-IN'
     
  12. keri-wales

    keri-wales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Kentish_Lad youre a star :clap:

    I'll try and get the Mrs and kids off there and give it a whirl!!!!

    Im sure that I'll be back here tomorrow to ask how to get the best sound/picture from the set up!!!

    I also have a PS3 and would like to conect that at some point to watch Blue-ray etc. How might I best do that considering that the 850 only has 1 optical in???? (the Toshiba TV has 3 HDMI's)

    Keri
     
  13. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192

    The PS3 has optical out also,, so you will need an optical splitter (2 in - 1 out ) to use with the single input on the 850
     
  14. Chilly Willy

    Chilly Willy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +75
    To be able to listen to tv via 850 and virgin via 850 use this:

    http://www.kenable.co.uk/product_in.../1013?osCsid=78b3d3517d692b6cf6243928c10bd975

    tv >> optical >> switch box
    virgin >> optical >> switch box
    switch box >> 850

    also PS3 >> switch box
     
  15. keri-wales

    keri-wales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks again Kentish_Lad, I'll pop to Maplins tomorrow and pick one up!!!!

    Im going to try and shift the wife and Kids now and get started!!!!

    If you have any 'tips' for getting the best out of the 850 I'd love to hear them???

    thanks again buddy

    Keri:thumbsup:
     
  16. Miniholic

    Miniholic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,060
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    The Shire
    Ratings:
    +399
    My parents had the same problem when they added a HD DVD player to their setup, they now have

    HD DVD > TV - HDMI
    HD DVD > PT850 - Optical
    Sky > TV - RGB Scart*
    TV > PT850 - Phono interconnects.

    *This would be Virgin > Tv - HDMI in your case

    This way the HD DVD player benefits from the best audio connection, and both Sky and Freeview can be viewed using Dolby Pro-Logic. It is a compromise but without the Panasonic having a second digital-in something has to give.

    Another option would be to use an optical switch and run digital audio from both sources and switch as required.

    Toslink switch

    If the Virgin box can output 5.1 surround then using a switcher would give this whereas the analogue would only allow for pro-logic to be used.
     
  17. AlphaPapa123

    AlphaPapa123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,305
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +71
    mate, does your system play divx files? I'm about to get one and would appreciate if you answered this for me.

    Thanks
     
  18. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192

    No, the UK model doesnt, the european model from Pixmania does
     
  19. Blacktigger72

    Blacktigger72
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you kentish

    Now can you recommand a good HDMI and Optical lead for mr around 2m long i assume.

    Don't really wanna go to comet or Dixon to buy what about maplin?
     
  20. AlphaPapa123

    AlphaPapa123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,305
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +71
    thanks for confirming that... now to find a reputable euro model seller other than Pixmania! I see them stocked at Ask - I'm going to check them out this weekend.
     

Share This Page

Loading...