Panasonic PT-AE100 first impressions - :)

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by richard plumb, Jan 29, 2002.

1. richard plumb

richard plumb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,051
    Hope its OK to start a new thread, as the others were speculating about price etc...

anyway, picked one of these up from the local Panasonic centre in Brighton (right next door to the Sony centre). Agreed a 7 day return to test it at home.

Now, before I give my impressions, I'm no expert, and I don't have a proper screen. Instead I used some matt white artists board on the wall. Not ideal, but I was thinking it should be a harsher test than when I saw the Sony HS1 at Sevenoaks.

Anyway, I'm very impressed by this little panasonic. As they say, you should ignore the specs and just see what it looks like. And it looks very nice indeed.

It certainly seems to paint a much more natural image than the Sony. With the Sony, after a while I became quite aware of the horizontal line structure and it became quite fatiguing. There was none of that with the Panasonic. I tried it with Final Fantasy, Gladiator and also R1 Starship troopers (with this last one, the opening studio logo has those little scratches in the film. Really noticable blown up big - really makes it feel like home cinema :) )

The blacks aren't great, but that can be improved by using the low light mode and 'cinema' picture mode, and it really didn't bother me that much. This latter mode seems to be very clean- the other two modes (normal and dynamic) have quite a bit of noise, especially noticable on large areas of single colour.

Trying to lower the brightness right down to get a good black ended up losing too much detail, so I might try a grey screen.