1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic plasmas and VCRs

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by JamieD, Jan 8, 2003.

  1. JamieD

    JamieD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    This subject is alluded to in a few places, but naturally it's not on the top of everyone's priorities when connecting up their lovely new plasma screen.

    The problem I've got is that my VCR only produces composite. If I connect it up to the plasma, I lose my s-video input.

    At the moment, I'm using my new AV amp to route various S-Video things to it, playstation 2 and a SNES (stop s******ing at the back). So it seems a shame to lose my s-video input since my AV amp has a lot of spare connectivity down that route, but I need to be able to play videos for the kids.

    As I see it:

    1. I could ditch my snes, and connect my PS2 via RGB (and my lovely Dr Sim box) and never use s-video again. The VCR would use the composite port alone.

    2. Buy a cheap SVHS VCR and use the amp via s-video.

    3. Find a composite -> s-video convertor but the only ones I've seen are industrial ones that cost a grand!

    Any advice?

    jamie
     
  2. V5-APS

    V5-APS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +10
    Have you tried inputting the VCR composite to the amp and then checking if the amp will output the signal thru' s-video??
    Not sure if it will work, but worth a try!!
     
  3. steelej

    steelej
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. plasmattack

    plasmattack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, this is the thing to get. Obviously you don't get S-Video quality but it does resolve your connection problem.
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Worth a go at that money but don't be too hopeful that it works. Some displays seem to work with those things and some not. I've got one, but it won't run my screen from VHS. Your amp will almost certainly not do a conversion for you, I think the composite and S-video circuits are completely separate on AV amps.
     
  6. JamieD

    JamieD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
  7. mark raeburn

    mark raeburn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Have you actually got this yet? I got one of these devices from Keene (for £12.99), to connect my VCR to my amp via s-video up to the panny plasma, however with mine I get diagonal "line interference" accross the whole screen. Infact if I disconnect the s-video to the plasma and connect composite directly the picture quality is far better as these diagonal lines are eliminated. Do you have any of these problems with your converter?

    Cheers

    Mark
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    That's an interesting one, Mark, I get no picture at all with mine!
     
  9. JamieD

    JamieD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've got to say that the picture isn't brilliant, but it's not unwatchable. It's slightly worse than watching it through directly connected Composite, which people might say why bother, but it does smooth the path for my other s-video devices.

    How much diagonal "line interference" are we talking about?

    BTW, have you a link to the Keene product you are using?
     

Share This Page

Loading...