1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic PHD8 - Does it need a scaler?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by MattMcSpirit, Sep 16, 2005.

1. MattMcSpirit

MattMcSpirit

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi guys,

Im pretty new to the old Plasma market, and having just graduated, i cant afford one just yet anyhow. However, the point of my post...

Next year sometime, id be hoping to buy a 42" (ish) Plasma, and up until recently, ive been reading the boards, and reviews, and have shortlisted the PV500 and the 436XDE as pretty darn good for what id be looking for. I know each has their followers, and without demo-ing either, i cant say which id prefer, perhaps the XDE due to it being newer.

However, i have recently been enlighted to the idea of a Panel, namely the PHD8. Im aware that this is a hi definition version of the PWD8, is that correct? Does this PHD8 need any sort of scaler to look its best, or will it do it, providing you buy the correct terminal boards, without a scaler?

Also, would this kind of panel suit my needs?

Im not interested in Sky HD, as im pretty happy with freeview, though i would buy the best PVR box i could afford at the time and upgrade from my current matsui offering. Speakers would also be taken care of, so the lack of built in speakers would not be an issue. I suppose having the XDE or the PV500 over a panel would mean if i didnt want to fire everything up, i.e. amp, speakers, i could quickly watch and listen to freeview (say for 10 mins before work or something).

Id hope, by the time i could afford the plasma, to get an amp with Hi-def switching, not necessarily any kind of up conversion (and hopefully no loss of quality!), so that i could just have the 1 cable going to the panel. The Yamaha 4600 seems pretty good for what it is, although i know a few people on here have had problems.