1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic Owners?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by KopiteLad, Nov 1, 2004.

1. KopiteLad

KopiteLad

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive recently bought the Tx32 PM1

http://www.comparestoreprices.co.uk/images/pa/panasonic-tx32pm1.jpg

Couple of very annoying things happening at the moment, can you possibly tell me how I can fix them or avoid it from happening?

Firstly, apologies as I am new to all this, so my technical jargon is limited.

1 - When watching the TV [mostly when watching DVD's] the screen randomly seems to pop up with the word "Widescreen" on it, as though I have altered the aspect ratio. I was told by someone that the Panny's adjust to darkness and lightness, but the problems does seem to occur randomly, even when there is no chance of scene or obvious darkness/lightness?

2 - When watching TV, the black band across the top & bottom will pop up for some adverts/programmes and not for others. As though the screen ration has moved from zoom to widescreen [although it doesnt pop the word up onscreen as it does for the above problem]

3 - When you turn the TV on....and this may just be something that most TV's do [but as I say, im new to this and this is my 1st widescreen TV] the TV seems to make a loud-ish knock noise as you turn it on, and then the screen picture flickers green and purple and then its fine. Is this just a normal thing to happen as the TV is 1st turned on?

:lease:

2. Tight Git

Tight Git

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +597
    KopiteLad,

(1) If you leave the aspect ratio on Auto, the "wide" message comes up when the TV detects a widescreen broadcast. Sometimes programmes are in widescreen but the adverts in normal ratio (cricket on Skysports for example).