1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic or JVC ??

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by JohnMac, Jan 30, 2002.

1. JohnMac

JohnMac
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a budget of approx. £500 for a camcorder.The models that look the best value are the Panasonic NV-DS 27B/28B or the JVC GR-DVL 257/355.What are the pros and cons of DV-IN?. I am not sure how useful this would be as I intend using it for filming my newborn once he/she comes along and probably over the course of his/her first few years. Is it cheaper to buy a camcorder with this function or buy a widget to convert?
    I am new to this game, so any help/advice would be appreciated. Also, can I get software, if I buy a DV-in camcorder, bearing in mind my PC is a Pentium 11, 350MHZ?

2. johnnyzee

johnnyzee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well mate I have panasonic 27b camcorder its a bril camcorder except for its a little bit bulky and it hasnt DV-in(its amust if u want to edit ure footage and transfer back to your mini DV tape) it also hasnt analogue In which i could have done with...anyway u dont need to buya widget to DV in enable it (i went and bought one) but have realised all u need is a ure serial cable (supplied with ure cam) and a freeware program called Panatest 2, all u do then is run the prog select the right com port and change one key in the registry (cant remember at mo...but if u need it email me at cuethebest@yahoo.co.uk) and ill run u through it....