1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic LCD's series 50 vs 500

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by radpilot, May 29, 2005.

1. radpilot

radpilot

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wonder, since both series feature the same specs except for extra connectivity, if someone got a 50's series wouldn't be easy enough to change the connection board (or something like that) at the back with one of the 500's and have an HD ready LCD ? :lease:

2. radpilot

radpilot

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. supermackem

supermackem

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +71
    Im not an expert on lcds but i dont think you can change the boards on them like you can plasmas.

4. David Mackenzie

David Mackenzie
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Yeah, you're right - non changable.

It's common for the US models to be a lot better. They like to replace HDMI connections with fricking SCART ones over here :mad:

5. msg

msg

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    Took delivery of TX26LXD50 on Monday.

Very happy with all aspects of this TV except black levels during night-time viewing.

Gradation of blacks is fine, however, full black not as black as I would have expected.

I had hoped that full black would have been somewhere close to the colour of the screen when the TV is turned off. Is this wishful thinking?

Anyone been able to compare blacks of 50 and 500 series LCDs side by side in dark conditions? Is there a difference, or is the Viera system doing the same job on both?

I'm wondering whether the 500 series has backlight control (the 50 series doesn't, but has a 'CATS' sensor which is claimed to adjust 'certain' picture settings to take account of ambient light; anyone know if this sensor also adjusts the backlight?).