1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic HDMI products

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by 69COU, Nov 27, 2004.

  1. 69COU

    69COU
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    657
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +50
    Has anyone tried the new DVDS97EBS with HDMI to projector yet?
     
  2. PRINCEGRINCH

    PRINCEGRINCH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    650
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have it with connected to a Panasonic PT-AE700 Projector (HDMI-HDMI Connection). The picture is superb at both 720P and 1080i.
     
  3. Baz1

    Baz1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    169
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Workingon, Cumbria.
    Ratings:
    +0
    How come its getting a slagging over the pond with black crush problems
     
  4. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    i havnt seen any thing that says it upscales to 720p and 1080i. even on the panny website it dosnt give a mention of upscaling. how do you mean the pic is quality at these resolutions ?
     
  5. PRINCEGRINCH

    PRINCEGRINCH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    650
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Baz1: It's the Samsung DVD-HD947 thats getting slagged off for its black crush problems not the Panasonic S97.

    BauerCTU: The Panasonic S97 uses the Faroudja DCDi de-interlacer/upscaler Chip. Compared to my standard sony or the standar mode on the Panasonic, once I select 750p on the Panasonic there is quite a noticebly difference in the picture. Its much more sharper, no jagged edges and the colours seem much more vibrant rather than washed out.
     
  6. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    excellent. its just strange that there is no mention of upscaling on the official panasonic web-site and id assume that to be its biggest feature. i'll have a look for the pdf of teh spec. was toying between this and the denon 1910 and been hearing horror stories about the 1910 and Sanyo Z2 & Z3. cheers
     
  7. Drew C

    Drew C
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    Didn't realise the panny s97 was out already!!
    Anbody know where to buy a multi-region version at a good price?
    Princegrinch, where did you get yours?
    I am thinking of pairing this up via hdmi with a sony HS50 projector when it comes out.
     
  8. Drew C

    Drew C
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    just been reading the vast s97 thread on AVS. I'm a bit put off now, everyone mentions the player suffers from macroblocking.
     
  9. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
  10. PRINCEGRINCH

    PRINCEGRINCH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    650
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have yet to notice Macro Blocking on the Panasonic. It was more noticeable to me on my HTPC (ATI Radeon 9800 Pro with FFDSHOW @ 720P), thanthe Panasonic s97. I had to tweak it out.

    Also for those that are having Macro Blocking issues, there is soon supposed to be a Firmware upgrade from Panasonic for the S97. This will tweak the MB out and further improve & enhance the quality of the Faroudja Chip (Faroudja is is re-programmable). That is why I was never that worried about the Macro Blocking.

    DrewC:
    I got my s97 from my Local Panasonic Dealers. They price matched digital direct.
     
  11. Vanderlay

    Vanderlay
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do you know if can do 720p at 50Hz or only at 60Hz?
     
  12. Barzo

    Barzo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,472
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +185
    Sorry to hijack this thread to an extent, but three questions re: the s97:

    (i) Does it have a full suite of picture tweaks like the s75 - gamma, brightness, etc + mpeg nr, mosquito nr and others?
    (ii) Does it still have an automatic mode for displaying 4:3 pictures on a 16:9 display (I found the s75 4:3 mode in 16:9 (wide) to be a real boon, as it meant I did not have to fiddle with the TV aspect settings)
    (iii) Is there anywhere I can download (a) the manual or (b) full tech specs? Info on the Panny UK website is woeful.

    Once again, sorry to ask these questions here, but I asked the same of customer services at Panny and am too polite to give an accurate statement of what I thought of the reply. :)
     
  13. Drew C

    Drew C
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the reply Grinch
    Hope this is the case.
    If the mb is a problem, apart from the samsung (black crush problem!) what other hdmi players are available for this money?!
    Would I get a better picture from a prog scan player like the pioneer 470 to put me on?
    Noticed the player has appeared on 'unbeatable'.
    Anbody seen it 'multi-region' for a good price? or is it possible to hack it?
     
  14. PRINCEGRINCH

    PRINCEGRINCH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    650
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Vanderlay: It has an option for both 50Hz & 60Hz and allows NTSC Material

    Barzo:
    (i) It has Basic and advanced options, like the ones you mentioned
    (ii) Has the automatic 4:3/16:9
    (iii) There probably is a manual for this (best try AVSForums under the S97 thread)
    If I come across one ill post it for you.

    No probs about the questions. Happy to be of any help :)

    Drew C:
    The Panasonic is also an advanced Progressive scan player. The only players close to the price are:
    Samsung HD-947
    Denon 1910

    Sony DVD-975 is supposed to be releasing soon. Only prob with this is that I don;t think its HDCP, which means it won't work with the AE700 as that is HDCP.

    If you have any more questions, then plz feel free to ask.
     
  15. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    just been reading more and dont know if this is a typo but here goes:

    read that HDMI > HDMI you can achieve 480p & 1080i and,
    HDMI> DVI you can have 480p, 720p and 1080i

    so is this true that there is no 720p through HDMI > HDMI. if so this totally messed up my plans as im looking at this dvd player + Sanyo Z3 which dosnt have DVi so id want HDMI > HDMI at 720p to pixel match the screen. but according to what i read (at AVS) you cannot get this. can some one confirm this ?
     
  16. PRINCEGRINCH

    PRINCEGRINCH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    650
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    BauerCTU: I use the HDMI-HDMI connection @720P. It must be a typo.
     
  17. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    :thumbsup: thats top stuff ! if you have the time and equipment could you post a few screenies of the Panny in action at 720p. this one looks like a winner as im very put off by the denon and the slagging it seems to be getting
     
  18. PRINCEGRINCH

    PRINCEGRINCH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    650
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
  19. Drew C

    Drew C
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey PRINCE,
    Have you compared a component progressive scan picture against your HDMI feed?
    Was there a noticable diference on your AE700?
     
  20. PRINCEGRINCH

    PRINCEGRINCH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    650
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    BauerCTU: Sorry, I couldn't get around to taking pics for you. Ill try n sort em out for you tmw.

    Drew C: I have just been using the HDMI connection. The good thing about the Panasonic is that it lets you upscale over component aswell, unlike the Samsung, which only allows you to upscale over HDMI. I'd test it for you, but I dont use component for anything. If I get hold of a component cable then I'll give it a go.
     
  21. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    thats no problem. im 99% sold on this model now to keep saving the pennies. Xmas done me in hehe. hopefully a nice drop in price in january will spur me on
     
  22. jerkyboy

    jerkyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to the manual, you can only upscale via HDMI not via component.
     
  23. 69COU

    69COU
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    657
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +50
    PRINCEGRINCH

    I think jerkyboy is correct on this ( Although i would be happy to be proved wrong!)

    I think almost all the DVD player manufacturers are only now allowed to offer upscalling on the HMDI in order to stop piracy using the analogue source.

    I have the same problem as many in that i have run all component cables to my Projector and do not have room for yet another cable in trunking. )

    My other stuff such as Sky/VCR is pluged ito current DVD recorder via scarts and then I use the component outputs from DVD recorder to projector

    Perhaps some good tech wiz :devil: out their can make a switch box that has HMDI input with the upscaled stuff then convert this to Component on the outputs.???

    Not sure what would happen with the next range of receivers that have HMDI
    inputs and various outputs such as the new panny one?

    http://www.panasonic.co.uk/home-cinema-components/saxr70/index.htm

    If you feed upscaled HMDI to receiver from DVD player would the receiver send out the better picture over it's component???

    Likewise would the receiver send out your other analogue signals such as component inputs and convert them back to digital to send through a HDMI cable? :confused:
     
  24. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    Does this play EVERYTHING???
    all formats, inc, JPEG, MPEG, CD RW+/- etc etc etc..,
     
  25. ccparkhill

    ccparkhill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, SE1
    Ratings:
    +14
    Doesn't play SACD AFAIK.
     
  26. alfie786

    alfie786
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is this player Better than the samsung. CAn it upscale too?

    Why look at panasonic when samsung is also cheaper!
     
  27. Drew C

    Drew C
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    The Panny s97 is now under £200 at unbeatable :thumbsup:
    Although this is not multi-region :(
    Anybody have a clue as to how it could be hacked?
     
  28. locky79

    locky79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    i know this might sound daft but i was looking into thie player and would like to know if performance will be affected if i use a HDMI -> DVI adpater?

    i just got my RD50 and i really want to get the most out of it, so what would you suggest? i saw the cheap price at unbeatable but since i know RD50 has issue with NTSC stuff im not too bothered as my collection is PAL with the exception of Pokemon :rotfl:

    will i need to buy additional adapters to get the s97 to run on my RD50?
     
  29. HouseofMu

    HouseofMu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    I believe you can Multi-Region the S97 by using a special remote from here (£23.50)

    Its seems to be a one use only remote, but for Pronto owners it may be possible to learn the code???

    It might also be made MR with a Firmware update disc, if anyone heard of such a thing please post.

    My question: Does anyone know if the S97 can be used with DVD-R discs?

    thanks
     
  30. TCD

    TCD
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The player is £199 at unbeatable.co.uk Tempting!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...