• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Panasonic HC x900 - PC or MAC?

Ian H

Novice Member
Need some advice. Have just purchased a HC -X900 to replace a twelve year old mini DV cam to use for home videoing. I am no expert and purchased after reading good reviews. However, I have a seven year old i-mac with i-movie and I just assumed I would be able to record and edit on the i-mac.
After reading up on this I am now confused.
Am I correct in now thinking that my old i-mac (OSX 10.4.11) will not read the SDHC cards which the X900 records onto?
I realise I may need to purchase a new Mac/PC - This is where I am even more confused.
If it is neceesary, I would prefer to replace my old i-mac with a new i-mac but am I correct in thinking that the "I-frame" recording format (needed to edit footage on a Mac) is only standard definition quality. If this is so, would I be better replacing my i-Mac with a PC to enable me to record HD quality video and then edit it?
I know I should have done a bit more homework but now I have the x900 i just want to know which is the best option to allow me to do basic editing - my current i-mac or a new one/PC. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.:lease:

12harry

Distinguished Member
Welcome.
Sorry can't help with Macs.
However a powerful PC (min quad-core Win7 ) lots of HDD space (like 3Tb).... and software may be cheaper than buying a replacement Mac - perhaps you should research this aspect.?

Do you have any Editiing software preference?

Last edited by a moderator:

DocJackal

Ian H said:
am I correct in thinking that the "I-frame" recording format (needed to edit footage on a Mac) is only standard definition quality.