Question Panasonic HC-VXF990 Quality Issues

TM19

Standard Member
I hope someone can help?

I’m a video novice using a 4K Panasonic HC-VXF990 camcorder to do some music videos and the quality is great when I watch them via my TV but I’m disappointed with the quality when ;

1) I see them shown on Spotlight TV (Country Music Channel on Sky-Not HD)

2) When I burn them to DVD.

Not sure if I’m doing something wrong or if I just need to upgrade my camera?

I record and edit in 4K using Power Director and send to Spotlight TV In MPEG4 format, you can check out the quality of one of my videos at
Hopefully I have given enough information and I hope someone can help me.

Thanks in advance 🙏

eMeS

Novice Member
Hi,

I've owned and used a VXF990 for a short time, but so far haven't managed to see any of my footage on a 4K display.
There's a massive difference between the overall data rates between 4K and the earlier AVCHD standard. Purely as a diagnostic aid, can I suggest you try recording in AVCHD and see whether your software can cope properly with a reduced video bandwidth. I know this won't give you 4K at the end for display, but if the sound is OK, it might be a clue as to where to look next.

Best Wishes

Upvote 0

chrishull3

I hope someone can help?

I’m a video novice using a 4K Panasonic HC-VXF990 camcorder to do some music videos and the quality is great when I watch them via my TV but I’m disappointed with the quality when ;

1) I see them shown on Spotlight TV (Country Music Channel on Sky-Not HD)

2) When I burn them to DVD.

Not sure if I’m doing something wrong or if I just need to upgrade my camera?

I record and edit in 4K using Power Director and send to Spotlight TV In MPEG4 format, you can check out the quality of one of my videos at
Hopefully I have given enough information and I hope someone can help me.

Thanks in advance 🙏