Panasonic hc-v750 + w-850 mic levels etc

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by skunkwerx, Jul 8, 2015.

1. skunkwerx

skunkwerx
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

So I have a Panasonic hc-w850, although this question is also relevant for the v-750 etc.

I use the camcorder for vlogs, and also want to use it to record my guitar playing.

I am concerned about the noise level damaging the camcorders microphone. Although I play through an amplifier and at fairly reasonable levels (bedroom levels) the videos I have made sound a bit sharp or have a noticeable hiss/noise floor during playback.

When I record, it is in mp4 format, and I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to setting mic levels, or seeing if the audio is clipping.

Am I right in thinking the w850 has a mode in mp4 stereo where you can see the left and right bars on the lcd, and if they go into the red it means its bad?

Am I better to get an external mic? If so what one might suit my needs for guitar recording? The rode videomic seems within my budget.

Cheers guys!

2. Terfyn

Terfyn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +248
    If you are playing through an amp, you can directly record into the camera.
    You will need an attenuator cable, mine is made by SESCOM. The cable reduces the signal from Line Out to Mic In. The cable is advertised to connect a camera to a Zoom audio recorder.
    You connect the amp to the camcorder through the Headphone Out on the Amp and, via the attenuator cable, into the camera. You need to set all the volumes to zero and slowly increase the volumes until the meters on the camera read OK. You can monitor the camera via the headphone socket at the front RHS of the camera.
    I use this method to record my Juno-Di keyboard and my Zoom H2 recorder. It works OK.

3. skunkwerx

skunkwerx
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0