Panasonic...half my channels have stopped working!

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Dave H, Jul 9, 2002.

  1. Dave H

    Dave H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lots of different places!
    Ratings:
    +145
    Hi I have had my digibox for about two years now and for about a year my box has been crashing but mostly I have been losing more than half my channels.
    All the screen says is no signal is being received, but if I flick through some of the channels work( channel 4 and sky news always work).
    I have tried unplugging it and taking the card out, also I have tried the unplugging it and holding down the middle button to upload the new software and it still does not work.
    Is my box scrap and should I get it fixed or try and buy a secound hand box from somewere.
    cheers Dave.
     
  2. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It could be the LNB. Can you check to see if you can receive all the horizontal or all the vertical stations?

    If it is the box you can get a replacement from Panasonic for £65.

    0800 1693012

    DaveP
     
  3. Ninja Wannabe

    Ninja Wannabe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Given that you've had the dish up for two years now, and given that the mini dishes are crap, I would say that the dish alignment has wandered out (due to the wind etc) I would say that your best bet would be to phone round a few satellite installers in your area and ask how much a dish realignment would be. Pick the best quote.

    The lnbs are fairly bulletproof though, my first system (analogue self install) was enabled by a friend pulling a dish (with lnb attached) out of a neighbours compost heap. That worked first time and I'd still have it now if it wasn't for the fact I've now got an 80cm dish with a monoblock.

    Get Phoning!:)
     
  4. Dave H

    Dave H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lots of different places!
    Ratings:
    +145
    Hi I have checked the signal strenth from the sky services menu and it is only a bit down on when it was installed, It was fine until sky brought out a new software for the improved EPG six months ago and since then Iv'e had nothing but trouble with it.some say it only affects the Panasonic boxs but I am not sure.
    cheers Dave.
     
  5. Rochdale

    Rochdale
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had Sky installed since saturday and my signal strength shows as fairly strong but I have the same problem, I don't get certain channels.

    Looking at this site I can see that the channels I'm missing seem to be from the same source, so I think the dish is out of alignment. I'll find out on friday when the engineer comes around to check things out.
     
  6. Dave H

    Dave H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lots of different places!
    Ratings:
    +145
    Thanks keep us imformed as it is driving me mad:mad:
    Dave.
     
  7. Dave H

    Dave H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lots of different places!
    Ratings:
    +145
    bttt
     
  8. Rochdale

    Rochdale
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    here are the full details on the problems I had.

    If you make a list of the chanels that are missing and then cross reference them against the lyngsat list to see what polarity, band and beam they are you might be able to diagnose the problem.
     
  9. Paul G

    Paul G
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's another link that might be of help...

    http://www.satcure.co.uk/digirep.htm

    I've had a 'missing channels' digi box problem that was caused by a dodgy LNB unit (Cambridge make).
     

Share This Page

Loading...