Question Panasonic GT30 Network issues

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by jazzngroove, Aug 26, 2018.

  1. jazzngroove

    jazzngroove
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +51
    Hi all,

    I need a little help with a TV I have had since new.

    I used to connect the TV via wifi (5ghz) to a Virgin media Superhub 2, no problems with streaming ever.

    Last week the SH2 stopped working with the Apple devices in the house, So i bought a used Linksys WRT1200 router.

    Since then the TV keeps loosing connection, if I change the internet connection to "wired" then back to "wireless" then it seems to work for a little while, but then after a little while, or sometimes a long while, it will loose connection, upon doing a connection test, it gives me an error code of 008??

    When I bought the router i decided to attach a network drive as well to the linksys via its USB 3 connector, but this also loses its connection and I loose access to the HDD via Viera tools.

    I know this is an old TV set, so any help would be appreciated.

    Just FYI I don't have a USB stick in any of the USB ports, only a LED strip connected which is powered by USB, if anyone thinks that's the cause of the frequent disconnection I will unplug that.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. MultiRoom

    MultiRoom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    969
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +388
    Clearly you've got a duff router. Buy a new one. I'd also use homeplugs for your TV to router connection. Very reliable these days and only about 20 quid.
     
  3. MultiRoom

    MultiRoom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    969
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +388
    Clearly you've got a duff router. Buy a new one. I'd also use homeplugs for your TV to router connection. Very reliable these days and only about 20 quid.
     
  4. MultiRoom

    MultiRoom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    969
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +388
    I have no idea what happened there. Sorry for the triple post.
     
  5. jazzngroove

    jazzngroove
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +51
    This was my thoughts as well, I bought it used on eBay and the seller has said he will refund as I am having a few more issues, one bizarrely enough is because I use a USB 3 HDD, which can cause interference with 2.4GHz signals....!

    I think this has all been caused by a nearby router, even though on a different channel having the almost the same amount of -dB signal strength as my router, the houses to the back of me are on higher ground so I think this is what is causing, the drop outs and slow speed.

    Thanks for the reply(s)!
     
  6. MultiRoom

    MultiRoom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    969
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +388
    No worries. Perhaps you can ask VM for a new superhub. It'll tie you into a new contract but if you're planning on remaining with them then there's no harm.
     

Share This Page

Loading...