Panasonic E65 - any good for me?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Philsp180, Jan 19, 2005.

  1. Philsp180

    Philsp180
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all :D ,

    I've now changed from the Akai 8500di (which turned out to be a none starter :suicide: ) and the Sony GX700 (which is a bit expensive and overkill for my needs :zonked: ) and I'm moving towards the Panasonic E65 which seems to get great reviews.

    I will be attaching a 36' Toshiba CRT TV and possibily a Set top box (another minefield to navigate). The main objective is to record TV programmes to watch later then record over, to transfer my camcorder footage to DVD (a bit of editing functionality would be nice... but not essential) and to watch DVD films. To be honest, it's really a replacement for my VCR which the kids have now pinched and relocated to the conservatory for their own use.

    So now it's whether the DMRE65 is the one for me..... any help will be gratefully received!!. :)
     
  2. ColonelK

    ColonelK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +1
    I took delivery of one last Friday and recorded one film so far. It's very simple to use with the menu's and navigation being first class.

    I got mine from Richer Sounds on offer at £229 which for the little extra over the E55 is worth it since it has DV input which I will use in good time. I can't comment on the editing facilities yet, since the only thing I have done is recorded a film to RAM and then chopped out the adverts.

    I suggest you check up the reviews at http://www.avreviews.com on the E65 to see if it fits the bill for you. I can say hand on heart that I am well pleased with mine.

    One thing. You get next to NO cables at all with the E65. So you'll need a good quality scart, a TOSLINK cable if you have a 5.1 speaker system to plug it into, and if you want to use teh PC Card slot with something for flash media formats other than SD cards, you will need to buy the PC card adaptor to facilitate this.

    I found one on ebuyer for about £14 (there is a thread I started about this)

    Hope this helps

    CK
     
  3. Philsp180

    Philsp180
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It sounds like it's the one for me!.

    Thanks for the help.... :thumbsup:

    Phil.
     
  4. tony79

    tony79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +90
    I got the same deal. Love the recorder. Have just learned how to transfer footage from RAM to -R too so I'm very happy :)

    ive got a sony freeview box connected to it-very simple set-up. My aunt bought one at the same time and has used the dv input and said it was easy. If she can do it then anyone can!
     
  5. Steve999

    Steve999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lincolnshire UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi philsp180,

    I recently acquired a Panasonic E65 from Richer Sounds to replace my VCR and have found it to be a revelation in that role.

    I can thoroughly recommend both the machine and the DVD-RAM format which is very user-friendly after Video.

    I particularly like the value for money in using DVD-RAM over a hard disk recorder. They effectively work the same for most day to day purposes and there is no hard disk to fail inconveniently and expensively with it's potential consequential loss of data .

    Steve
     
  6. Philsp180

    Philsp180
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :thumbsup:
    Thanks to ColonelK, Steve999 and Tony79... your thumbs up meant I've just been down to Richer Sounds and parted with my £229.95... which, having checked out most of the shops on the infamous electical mecca, London's Tottenham Court Road .. is a bargain.

    Many, many thanks again chaps!!. :clap:
     
  7. Greamec

    Greamec
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    S.E. England
    Ratings:
    +0
    So if you put somthing on RAM you can edit it and then put it onto DVD-r using this machine ?
     
  8. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,268
    No - you need a HDD/DVDR combi for that or a PC DVD burner and the link listed in my signature!
     
  9. ColonelK

    ColonelK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +1
    A pleasure

    I hope you are enjoying it. We are :smashin:

    CK
     
  10. baggers

    baggers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. Greamec

    Greamec
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    S.E. England
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is very tempting, can anyone answer these questions:

    1. How much DV tape will fit onto one DVD disk (best quality)?

    2. How much editing will I be able to do?

    3. Can you edit on anything other than RAM ie. DVD- RW or DVD+RW ?

    4. How many films from sky can I fit on one disk? Best quality.

    Thanks Greame
     
  12. ColonelK

    ColonelK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think I can answer these for you

    Best Quality (from any source) is 1 hour
    Standard quality is 2 hours
    Long Play is 4 hours
    Extended play is 6 hours

    2. The editing I have done so far (RAM ONLY) is creating chapters throughout a film/show and deleting adverts. You can add titles too and choose the best clip of a film to add to that title. It's not really a DVD style menu per say, but when you insert a RAM disc you can easily scroll to the show/film/chapter you want to watch.

    3. Editing is RAM only. The only other supported WRITING format is DVD-R
     
  13. jsmanning

    jsmanning
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I cant decide between pan 65 or jvc 10 i need:

    dv in
    dvd ram
    use with sky+

    But i also want to record programmes every week to take round my mates house and dont want to use a new dvd-r every week and the pan 65 does'nt record onto dvd-rw does it?

    Any advice would be much appreciated

    James
     
  14. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,268
    Samsung DVDR100. Effectively this is a Panasonic model but with a few modifications (addition of DVD-RW recording, iLink etc). Well worth looking at IMHO.
     
  15. jsmanning

    jsmanning
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rasczak

    Thanks for the advise im off to tesco to pick one up for £159.99!!
     
  16. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,268
    Glad to be of help.

    Why not post a review once you've got it? Good or bad I'm sure people would appreciate you sharing your experience with the Samsung.
     
  17. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    I'd be interested to hear if the Samsung will record RGB from the scart. Anyone know? (just had a look in the manual online and it doesn't specify).

    Ian Guinan
     
  18. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,268
    Yes - full RGB in/out. If you don't believe me then refer to the Specifications page in the manual (p88) and you will see AV2 input 'RGB'.
     
  19. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    Cheers...just what I was hoping. Thanks.

    Ian Guinan
     
  20. RuddyRoad

    RuddyRoad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,445
    Mmmm, I thought the Panasonic used the latest MPEG-4 recording, whereas the Samsung MPEG-2 ??
     
  21. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,268
    All DVD recorders, including the Panasonics, use MPEG2 - the Panasonic has the option of recording in MPEG4 onto SD/PC Cards and DVD-RAM (and for streaming across networks on the high end E500) but it is meant for portability not quality.
     

Share This Page

Loading...