panasonic e50 or jvc drm1slb

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by jacket, Dec 30, 2003.

1. jacket

jacket

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    please could anyone advise me which recorder is the best value for money,,, considering the jvc is only £50 more expensive than the panasonic ,but has more to offer in recording formats...........im new to this and your advice will be greatly appreciated ............thanks

2. krg

krg
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I bought a JVC a few weeks ago and after telling my dad about it he then bought a Panny E50!

I generally only use rewritable media as I don't normally want to keep my recordings and I hate the idea of wasting discs if they can't be reused.

My requirement is basically a daily-use recorder, mostly just watch 'n wipe, plus I really liked timeslip & being able to watch a recording while recording another. So DVD-RAM was the way to go. But RAM is not a 'normal' DVD format, and I also wanted to be able to use a 'normal' rewritable format for compatibility.

So the reason I chose the JVC over the Panasonic was mainly because the JVC can also use DVD-RW rewritable media - I can lend recordings to friends without wasting a disc (with the E50 you'd have to use/waste a DVD-R).

3. jacket

jacket

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the reply.........looks like 1 vote for the jvc, which i found very interesting.

it still `bugs` me though why there is such a rave about the e50,
    .....maybe its a reliability issue compared to the jvc.....or maybe its simply the price of the machine.....whatever it is i would appreciate anyones veiws.

thanks

4. Jules

Jules

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,031
    I bought an E50, then swapped it for the JVC, only to swap back to the E50 2 days later.

Reasons: