Panasonic DVD players region free hack now available

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by Incure, Jul 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Somebody

    Somebody
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +2
    I did exactly the same on a BNIB DMR-EX85 using an iPaq last night. :smashin:
     
  2. hemis

    hemis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, guys!

    Would you, please, help me? I have:

    DVD player Panasonic SA-HT335 from Panasonic Home Cinema System SC-HT335;
    HP iPAQ Pocket PC rz1710

    The player is R5 coded so I can't watch R1 DVDs. I tried Virus' hack with TV Remote Controller but it didn't work :( I installed TV Remote Controller, downloaded ccf file with the hack, opened it in the program, pointed my IPAQ to the DVD player, pressed RC1 button and waited for several minutes, nothing happened. What was wrong? Thanks in advance!
     
  3. Woziak

    Woziak
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    Try to play with the distance between the ipaq and the device until it responds...
     
  4. Incure

    Incure
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. hemis

    hemis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can I find out what type of system controller is in my player? Thanks.
     
  6. hemis

    hemis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, thanks a lot, guys! I did it :) I downloaded Tom's 342v4 firmware update, burnt the CD, updated the firmware, entered the combination "Enter, 6, >=10, <<, 0, Audio, 8, 1, Subtitle, 4" and got the region-free and RCE-free unit. Hereby I confirm that this way works for SA-HT-335 DVD player. :thumbsup:
    P.S. it is written at this site "You can check which version you have by pressing 7 on the remote and at the same time PAUSE + OPEN/CLOSE on the player". This was no good for my unit, the "7 on the remote and at the same time PAUSE + STOP on the player" combo worked instead.
     
  7. DIlha

    DIlha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    Om my iPaq 1650 there is no way TV Remote 5.5 would load the hack ccf file! I can´t figure out why!:( :( Other CCF files load normally.
    Could you please tell me the TV Remote version you used?
    Thanks
     
  8. hemis

    hemis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    TV Remote 5.74 I took it from the link given at this site.
     
  9. FluffyLob

    FluffyLob
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hello all,

    I apologise if this has been answered already, but I'm (fairly) sure it's not specifically covered either here or on the dcevolution site.

    I have an SC-HT855 that I'd like to region-free, using IR output from a PocketPC. From reading this thread, there seems to be several opinions with this and other HTxxx models-

    - Don't try it, you'll probably brick it with an FT or ST error (steve1971)
    - It's confirmed working on an 855 by virus using his CCF file - correction - just noticed this is confirmed on the 885, not 855
    - 855 works at a different device code (eoinf)
    - HT500 didn't respond to IR (wale)
    - There is no way to return a HTxxx stuck in ST mode to normal (steve1971)
    - HT355 works with a modified firmware then standard remote (hemis)

    Can anyone help me make sense of these differing viewpoints? My biggest concern is trashing the unit and getting it stuck in ST mode - but I'm not even sure if that is a genuine concern. Any guidance appreciated :)

    Chris
     
  10. Incure

    Incure
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice summary Fluffy, to quote myself:

    But I think, in this case, what eoinf posted earlier (855 works at a different device code) is true. If the standard code doesn't work, try to find the right service code (or as eoinf for it).
     
  11. FluffyLob

    FluffyLob
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    Cheers Incure,

    I did read that section of your post, but the amount of conflicting info specifically about the HTxxx range still made me cautious. As it turns out though, impatience got the better of me, and I tried the hack last night :)

    Sadly it failed, with the 855 not responding at all, as wale reported.

    So, eoinf (or anyone else!) do you know the device code for the 855 - or - can you give me some pointers as to how I should uncover it myself? I'm happy to spend some time on this, I'd just need a pointer in the right direction to get started.

    Cheers,
    Chris
     
  12. Lewie

    Lewie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    11,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Folkestone
    Ratings:
    +906
  13. macklij

    macklij
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    I have just sucessfully done a DVD-LS5 portable player. It came up with the FT02 message as well. I used the cancel button on a normal Panny DVD remote and it reinitialised just fine.
     
  14. Lewie

    Lewie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    11,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Folkestone
    Ratings:
    +906
    Anyone?
    Is the >=10 button the same as -/-- ?
    What is the code for subtitles as its not on my remote?
    Thanks
     
  15. fidelityutensil

    fidelityutensil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know a hack for the Panasonic DMR-EX75?

    I've been looking, but can't find!

    This maybe due to stupidity, but any help would be much appreciated!

    Ta
     
  16. macklij

    macklij
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Will the hack mentioned in this thread not work? 'Someone' further up said it worked on the EX-85, which is very similar.
     
  17. foreigner

    foreigner
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried the region free hack on the DMR-EH55 with no luck.
    I used the Laptop method and the remote.txt provided.
    I see the player reacting to the commands and even reseting but I still cannot play other region DVD ... (bought the DVD in region 1 and trying region 2 DVDs).

    I tried 3 times ... 3 resets ... no succes ....

    I must have done something wrong as I can't believe the hack to be working with all other models except this one ...


    Any ideas of what to double check ?

    Thanks,

    Foreigner.
     
  18. Steve1971

    Steve1971
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Halifax
    Ratings:
    +1
    You are trying to play PAL DVDs on an NTSC Unit , You cant do that.

    Steve DVD Chips
     
  19. Hackeroonie

    Hackeroonie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cardiff...Wales
    Ratings:
    +18
    Foreigner

    To Expand on this a little..well a lot actually.

    Some Players Made for the Region 1 Zone ..which is an NTSC Area..are not what is known as Dual laser

    This means that the Player is not capable of reading PAL at all and it appears that your Region 1 Player is one of those ...and Steve1971 would know this as he is far more experienced in these matters than me.

    The Main Reason for this besides cost is that most DVD Disks are Released in the Region 1 Zone first ...so the demand for Multi Region capability is supposed to be Less in those areas.

    And it also appears that the practice of single laser (NTSC Only) Players seems to be mostly in the domain of the "Top End" Players rather than the "Budget" Players.

    From what your post Says

    The Hack has worked ..and will play all Regions ...but NOT PAL Disks if you were to purchase for example a R2 Japanese disk it would play as Japan is an NTSC Zone

    So you will need to steer clear of European R2 and Australian R4 Disks as these are PAL Zones

    The Panasonic DMR-EH55 European (R2) or Australian (R4) models (if available in those areas) will be Dual Laser ... but sadly yours is not and therefore will not be able to play PAL no matter what.

    Hope this helps

    Hackeroonie
     
  20. Steve1971

    Steve1971
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Halifax
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hackeroonie is on the right lines but is wrong to say it has anything to do with the laser , NTSC playback requires less memory that PAL playback so it's simply a cost saving decision to leave some electronic components out of NTSC units that are fitted in the dual format NTSC/PAL units.

    In the case of portable dvd units NTSC screens are cheaper so again Region 1units are sometimes fitted with NTSC only screens.

    Steve
    DVD Chips UK
     
  21. Hackeroonie

    Hackeroonie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cardiff...Wales
    Ratings:
    +18
    Folks

    Oh well I was Close enough hehehe:D

    I did say that Steve knew more than me on the Subject :)

    And I was Right :D

    Cheers Steve :)

    But the basis of the thread was correct ..the player will not play PAL

    Hackeooonie
     
  22. foreigner

    foreigner
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a lot guys for the lesson, I appreciated the detailled explanation.
    Not so proud of my ignorance of the basics but ... at least I learned something !!

    Jeff.
     
  23. borland

    borland
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I've just hacked (with PSP remote) DMREX-95V (bough at QVC brand new for &#163;300) but no RCE playback. What's wrong?
     
  24. davb

    davb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used a laptop to do this successfully on my DMR-EX95VEBS, which is presumably the same model as yours.
    Did the unit restart itself and display the "HELLO" message after you had entered the codes. If it didn't, then it probably didn't receive all the codes correctly.
     
  25. borland

    borland
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    the unit did restart and it plays back R1 DVD but not RCE protected. I've found one RCE protected dvd in my R1 collection - The 6th Day with Arni. When you try this DVD it shows world map with regions and a message which says something like "this is nothing wrong with your player. this dvd is not supposed to be used in modified dvd players...." that means that dvd is RCE protected. I wonder if anybody else has RCE protected discs and the same problem as me.
     
  26. davb

    davb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will try some other discs to see if mine is the same.
    Is there any way of telling if a disc is RCE protected from the markings. I have some R1 and some R3 discs.
     
  27. davb

    davb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just tried Maid in Manhattan, which is RCE protected, and it plays fine.

    Have you checked to see if you have used the correct codes for RCE, and not just for Multiregion.
     
  28. borland

    borland
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I thought that the IR hack was the same for ultiregion and RCE... pls correct me if I am wrong
     
  29. davb

    davb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are a number of posts in this thread relating to the problem you have. Look at #39 and #40 by bigguy283 which may be your problem.
     
  30. Incure

    Incure
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    An update for the Panasonic S49 and S295 users, Tom made a breaktrough by releasing the first Macrovision and CGMS disabled firmware for these players! Now you can record (commercial) DVD's to any source, digital or analog.

    You can find the new firmware here:
    http://www.dcevolution.net/panasonic

    Please remember that these kind of hacks or only possible trough modifying firmware, never trough a remote control hacks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice