Panasonic DMRE95

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by gmbiggles, Feb 6, 2005.

1. gmbiggles

gmbiggles

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there

I'm new to the world of DVD recorders and new to this site. I recently bought a Panny DMRE95 with big hard disc, planning to copy my old VHS tapes to DVD. I play the Panny through an LCD TV using SCART. I've recorded a few tapes to the Panny from my VCR using the SCART connector (not an expensive one) and I'm disappointed in the quality of the recorded image. If I connect the VCR to the TV using SCART, picture quality is pretty good (maybe not to the purist, but good enough for those old rock concerts). But when I record from VCR to the DVD R, the picture looks very grainy (DVD is connected to the LCD TV also using SCART. Recording from TV co-ax gives pretty good results, I just seem to have the problem with the VCR input.

Anyone got any ideas. I'm not sure whether I'm limited in this way by using SCART (it's all my VCR has), or whether there is something wrong with the Panny :mad:

2. TommyVecetti

TommyVecetti

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +95
    You haven't said at what speed you were recording at? If it's a lower bitrate it's bound to look poor. Especially on an LCD.

3. gmbiggles

gmbiggles

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    LP Mode. To be honest, I haven't tried XP or SP. I'll do that and see if it makes a difference.

Thanks

4. BillTheButcher

BillTheButcher

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    That's the problem I think. Try SP or XP and you should notice an improvement.

5. gmbiggles

gmbiggles

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0