Panasonic DMRE55EBS Multiregion

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by barbaramac, Oct 7, 2004.

  1. barbaramac

    barbaramac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought above recorder on Saturday and managed to set it up to record from TV but was unable to get a picture on my VCR to record to DVD. I thought I had made all the proper connections and tried several different set-ups on the recorder but still no use. Can anyone give me any ideas? I have JVC TV and VCR, Panasonic satellite set top box. It is very frustrating.
     
  2. Archie Fax

    Archie Fax
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    Using scart leads at all? Then you might need a scart switch unit as sold in argos for a tenner.

    Catalogue no. 534 2361
     
  3. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,775
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,676
    barbaramac, your best bet is to hook up the VCR on an ad hoc arrangement when you want to archive VHS to DVD. Hook up as follows:

    VCR Output >>> AV2 on the Panasonic E55 and then AV1 >>> TV Scart Input

    Ensure your E55 is set to composite on AV1 and AV2 (goto Functions/Setup/Connections).

    Your 'normal' setup could be as follows:

    Set Top Box >>> AV2 on the Panasonic E55 and then AV1 >>> TV Scart Input
    VCR Output >>> TV Scart Input 2

    Ensure your E55 is set to RGB on AV1 and AV2 (goto Functions/Setup/Connections) - and likewise for your set-top box (if this is Sky goto Services).
     
  4. barbaramac

    barbaramac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your help. My son came round last night and between us we managed to get it working although there are a few bits to juggle when I get new scarts. I also have a Pioneer DVD player which actually has better facilities than the Panasonic so I have connected it up also but we are not sure if I will be able to record from the player to the recorder. Anyone else tried this?
     
  5. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,775
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,676
    If your using commercial disks then the answer is no - copy protection prevents it. For backing up your own DVDRs though then this will work. For copying commercial disks you CAN buy special Scart cables. I do not provide advice on that but others on the forum can and will.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice