1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic DMR-HS2 Recorder - Region 1 Discs???

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by norderney, Jan 14, 2003.

  1. norderney

    norderney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +16
    I was wondering if I need to do anything to my Panasonic DMR-HS2 to make it play Region 1 discs?

    I have got a Multi Region machine but do I need to enter any codes to make it play R1 discs?

    Any advice would be most appreciated.

    Thanks

    Andrew Smith
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,614
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,536
    try asking where you purchased the unit from, as you say it was bought MR
     
  3. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    I guessing your problem is more to do with the play back of NTSC, as opposed to it being a region 1 disc if you have a MR machine.
    In the HS2 setup settings, the "NTSC playback output" option can be set to "NTSC" or "PAL60", which you should change depending on your TV;
    My Philips widescreen cannot handle PAL60, but handles an NTSC signal perfectly, so I have the playback setting set to NTSC when playing NTSC discs.

    Hope this helps,
     
  4. norderney

    norderney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +16
    Can the Panasonic DMR-HS1 DVD Recorder handle RCE Region 1 coded discs?

    I understand that Warner and Colombia are now using RCE on all their Region 1 discs.

    Thanks
     
  5. akash

    akash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it is multi region . it should be on auto detect.

    the ntsc/pal settings should not make a difference.

    my mates dmr-e30 does not require manual region inputting
     

Share This Page

Loading...