Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Panasonic DMR ES10 Surround Sound Recording

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Spenny, Sep 12, 2005.

  1. Spenny

    Spenny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've just replaced my Panasonic SVHS Video ecorder with a DMR ES10 DVD Recorder.

    I feed the Recorder via Scart direct from my NTL Digital box with the Optical output connected to my Tag McLaren AV32R and get Prologic Surround sound from the TV Programmes.

    When I record on the DVD Recorder and play back, I only get stereo and not surround sound, is this normal or have I missed something in setting up the DVD Recorder?
     
  2. Rob_J

    Rob_J
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +87
    They only record in Stereo.
     
  3. Spenny

    Spenny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    So did the Video, however, when you fed the Processor with the stereo signal it decoded the surround sound and played surround sound.
     
  4. dicky

    dicky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambs
    Ratings:
    +1
    Change your amp accrodingly so you are using dolby pro logicIIx or one of it's variants, ie DTS Neo. (if the processor has these which I presume it does)
     
  5. Spenny

    Spenny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have tried to change the surround modes on my AV32R but no matter what I choose DPLII or whatever, it still only plays in stereo!
     
  6. ArtS

    ArtS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did the original signal have surround?


    ArtS :hiya:
     
  7. Spenny

    Spenny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yes, it was a fairly recent film being broadcast in surround sound!

    I actually whatched the first few minutes and was experiencing surround sound, however, when I played it back only stereo!
     
  8. Benfica

    Benfica
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it is because your DVD recorder records the sound in DD2.0. If you connect your DVD recorder to you amp through a Digital interface (optical or coaxial) the chances are that you can not apply any processing to this format (DD2.0) - at least my amp doesn't.

    The only chance is to connect the analogue outputs of your DVD recorder to one of the amp analogue inputs and apply the processing you want on these amp inputs. You should get surround sound doing this.

    HTH
     
  9. dicky

    dicky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambs
    Ratings:
    +1
     
  10. beachbum

    beachbum
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just recorded Oasis in concert (Channel 4) from my Humax PVR hard drive to DVD RAM. When i play it through my Yamaha DSP A2 amp via optical lead, it will only play in stereo as well. Not that i'm bothered about music concerts but i'm gutted that movies won't be in surround. As someone said, even my old VCR could do that!

    BB
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice