1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic DMR ES10 - can it be modified for region 1

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by pwood, Jul 14, 2005.

  1. pwood

    pwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +136
    I'm getting this player as part of a package with my 42"PV500 plasma and was wondering how this machine can be set to play region1 DVD's.
     
  2. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,219
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +903
    It can be done, but only by a dealer, or someone with access to a particular type of remote. You can hire these remotes for a day or so.

    Alternatively, ask the dealer where you're getting your PV500 from if they can sort it out - that's what I did.
     
  3. Steve1971

    Steve1971
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Halifax
    Ratings:
    +1
  4. pwood

    pwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +136
    Cheers. I kinda though there was more to it than a standard handset hack. I will ask the dealer. :smashin:
     
  5. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Location location location
    Ratings:
    +93
    Amost all dealers can supply this pre-modded for multiregion. A google search would give you info on dealers and stuff that can supply it pre-modded, or can mod it for you ;)
     
  6. oh aye

    oh aye
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    My package arrived 37pv500cab and dmr es10 and found they had region chipped it anyway i hadn't asked them. I bought it at soundandvisiononline.com (sorry not sure how to put links in). The dealer will probably region chip it for you if you ask.
     
  7. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Location location location
    Ratings:
    +93
    Yup S&V usually offer most of their gear pre-modded (as do many others) :)
     
  8. rutteger

    rutteger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    Anybody know if the IR codes to 'hack' the DMR-ES10 are available for use with a Pronto?
    Or are the one-time service remotes these retailers are selling for multi region upgrades super special ones?
     
  9. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Location location location
    Ratings:
    +93
    This has been asked before in other threads, and there is no way to do it without a service remote from a dealer or to buy a unit pre-modded.
     
  10. rutteger

    rutteger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    Fair enough, thanks for your reply.
     
  11. e_python

    e_python
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My ES10 was delivered from John Lewis and it is not Multi Region. What is the cheapest option that I have available to make it multi region. :lease:

    Hiring the remote sounds like a good idea. More info please.
     
  12. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Location location location
    Ratings:
    +93
    You`ll find more info regarding modifications for panasonic models by either a google search, clicking the banner at the bottom of the page, or a quick search of the forums.

    Thanks
     
  13. e_python

    e_python
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most of these remotes seem to be single use.

    Is it because sellers are being greedy and they do not want people to flog it on ebay after they have used it. ie they do not want a second hand market for these things.
     
  14. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Location location location
    Ratings:
    +93
    ? You are paying for a service, NOt for a product. You have the DIY option rather then sending / taking in your machine for modification to the dealer.

    For such a new model there is no reason not to buy it pre-modified in the first place.
     

Share This Page

Loading...