Panasonic DMR-EH50 - turning itself on

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by MiniRoll, May 19, 2005.

  1. MiniRoll

    MiniRoll
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    A week or so ago I was watching something on Sky. My Panny EH50 was in Standby with Ext Link on. Then the EH50 suddenly turned itself on and after about 1-2 minutes turned itself off again.

    Also, a coulpe of times I've left it in Standby with Ext Link on and found that it has turned itself on (I did doubt myself the first time it happened).

    It definitely happened again yesterday. I got in from work, had a look at the EH50 and it was still in standby with Ext Link on. I got changed and made some dinner and when I next looked, the EH50 was on and Ext Link was no longer lit.

    Has anyone experienced anything similar. Twice when I have noticed this happening, the EH50 has been in direct (although very weak) early evening sunlight. Could this be triggering the problems? (although none of my other equipment has ever been effected)

    I would like to think that I could go on holiday with Ext Link set and the EH50 would record everything set in the Sky Planner. So far, I do not feel confident that this would work.

    Thanks
     
  2. docb

    docb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have a search for "ext link" on this forum, it has happened quite often to people.
     
  3. MiniRoll

    MiniRoll
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    docb

    I know there has been a lot of talk of ext link and I have checked into this. However, the problem I have raised above has not, as far as I can tell, been covered.

    So, any help, or similiar experiences greatfully received :D
     
  4. MiniRoll

    MiniRoll
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    It definitely is not the sun that's cauing it. It happened again tonight at about 20:25 :(
     
  5. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    in short take it back its cream crackered. the EH50 has "issues" there is nothing YOU can do about its a manufacturing fault.



    gary
     
  6. nigelmurray

    nigelmurray
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the dmr eh52 which is exactly the same as the dmr eh50.A lot have people had the same problem that you are describing but this was solved by the new firmware version 303 which is on the panasonic website.
     
  7. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    can you provide a link?


    Gary
     
  8. nigelmurray

    nigelmurray
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. MiniRoll

    MiniRoll
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm a bit worried about running a firmware upgrade - I assume it would invalidate my warranty?
     
  10. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    i'd worry about that firmware its GERMAN!! if it was me i wouldn't do it without Panasonic's say so or unless a loads of members had already done it.


    Gary
     
  11. MiniRoll

    MiniRoll
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is there a way to tell what firmware version I'm currently using?
     
  12. MiniRoll

    MiniRoll
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just had a thought - could my problems be caused by having a cheap SCART cable connecting my EH50 to my Sky box?

    Anyway, I have changed the cable for a better quality one (QED Squart). Fingers crossed!
     
  13. jeff1975

    jeff1975
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the dvr will record automaticlly if the dvr is on ext link and the sky channel is set on autoview
     
  14. balb0wa

    balb0wa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chesterfield,Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hello,

    Well ive just used the german firmware , and its updated ok, all menus etc are in english still !

    just burnt it to a cd, inserted it, and it said updating etc on the display, was dead easy.

    will see if it solves the ext link problem
     
  15. MiniRoll

    MiniRoll
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    A quick update.....

    I tried a higher quality scart with no joy. Still turning itself on. In fact it did this one when it was recording and therefore stopped recording half way through!

    Anyway, I've spoken to Panasonic and they think it's a problem with the Sky box passing a signal to the EH50. I said I thought it unlikely that a signal could be passed from the Sky box that would actually turn the EH50 on.

    So, for the next test, I've removed every connection from the EH50 (except the power). If it turns itself on now, I'll know it's the EH50 with the problem.
     
  16. MiniRoll

    MiniRoll
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry me again.....

    Well, it did not take long. The EH50 turned itself on within about an hour. Got on the phone to Panasonic UK who said return to the dealer.

    Got in contact with Digital Point and they said to send it back and they will replace 'if they can find a fault'. They will not pay my postage irrespective of fault!

    I'm sending it to them using initial city link so they should get it tomorrow.

    I'd be interested to hear if anyone else has this problem just in case Digital Point say there's nothing wrong :lease:
     
  17. balb0wa

    balb0wa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chesterfield,Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    i got mine from digital point, im testing the new german firmware now, will let you know how i get on.

    I cant see digital point finding the fault though.
     
  18. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    When had the fault i videoed it with my phone!!! so they couldn't argue about it!! just a thought.

    Gary
     
  19. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +399
    Scart cable and Pin 8 sounds like the root cause of this :)
     
  20. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    Ekko, the root cause of this is Panasonics faulty firmware. not the scart lead, as the firmware will be further down the chain than the scart lead then snipping the wire wont help. mine did it plugged in on the kitchen table with no leads connected to it.

    Gary
     
  21. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Do these units have the EPG function like the european models?
     
  22. dicky

    dicky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambs
    Ratings:
    +1
    No
     
  23. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Oh right okay then, only a thought as the european models have it on and it could have been a grey import. Sorry for asking.
     
  24. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +399
    Nothing plugged into it ? Sounds like something else then. But if you did have it connected via scart, then I would put my money on Pin 8 being the problem That would be carrying the signal to trigger the Ext link.
     
  25. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Looking at this thread, http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=212487 , maybe they have put the wrong firmware on as GaryD suggested.
    After 2 minutes in Standby, does the unit turn on before shutting down?
    This is why I have asked about the EPG, as units with this function on, power on (But show as standby) to search for the host channel and the listings. If they cannot find the channels, they then enter standby again and repeat this process I think about every hour or 2.
     
  26. dicky

    dicky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambs
    Ratings:
    +1
    No need to apologise, there was no more that I could put in my
    answer, I suppose, No it doesn't :D
     
  27. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    As i said ekko its the firmware. however, getting panasonic to admit it is impossible. when i phoned them the girl on the phone took a nano second to tell me that there are no problems with thier recorders, shwe didn't check or anything. in fact she mentioned it before i'd even finished the question. ha ha so i got an E85 instead :D


    gary
     
  28. docb

    docb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I also have this problem and contacted AV sales about returning the unit.

    They have been in touch with Pana UK and they are sending me a disc with a firmware update on.

    Dont know if this is available generally, but sounds like an admission to me!!

    Will let you know if it works.

    Doc
     
  29. MiniRoll

    MiniRoll
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Doc

    Thanks for the info - this is very interesting. Do you know anything about the firmware update (version number etc?).

    I sent my EH50 back to Digital Point and they should have got it yesterday. I've not heard anything yet and have just sent them an email asking for an update.
     
  30. docb

    docb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Miniroll

    not sure what version it is, i have been promised the disk by wednesday next week direct from panasonic.

    I will post when i get it.

    Doc
     

Share This Page

Loading...