panasonic dmr-eh50 connection problems

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by withjet, May 15, 2005.

1. withjet

withjet

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a complete beginner with this so ANY help is appreciated.
    I seem to be having difficulty in getting my dmr-eh50 connected correctly to my tv/sky digi-box. I have followed the manual but no joy. I appear to be able to get normal function from my tv and sky but cannot view, and freely select channels when viewing through the selected channel for the dvd player. I don't know if the connections are wrong or if the player isn't tuned correctly, but all I get is a black screen. However when I press the function button on the remote, I am able to enter the menu system for the dvd player and a tv channel appears behind the menu, only for the screen to go black again when I try to select another channel. If anyone is even remotely able to follow what the hell i'm talking about I think I'll be well impressed. HELP!!!

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,268
    The DVD recorder is expecting a RGB signal but only getting a composite one. Check the following:

1) You have connected the DVD recorder to the TV Output on the Digibox. I cannot stress TV Output enough - only the TV output is RGB compatible.

2) Sky is set to output RGB. Goto Services/Setup/Picture Settings and ensure Video Output is set to 'RGB'. Ensure you 'Save New Settings'

3) Ensure you have not pressed the 'TV' button on your Sky handset as this forces composite output. Press the 'Sky' button and never press 'TV' again.

4) Ensure you do not have a VCR connected to the VCR scart on the Sky digibox as, if on, this will force composite.

5) Ensure you are using a fully wired scart cable!

3. withjet

withjet

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Rasczak, I'll give that a go and see how I get on.

4. gavan