1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic DMR-E50 Hi Fi shop says it sells DVD -RW for this machine??

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by sdm197, Apr 24, 2003.

  1. sdm197

    sdm197
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East London UK.
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi everyone,

    I was in Canterbury the other day when someone was purchasing a DMR-E50, with it they gave the guy 3 DVD-R discs plus one DVD-RW. When the customer had left I asked the store manager if the recorder can record on DVD-RW, he said he has a regular customer who has a DMR-E50 and has been purchasing DVD-RW discs and has not come back to say they don't work so he has carried on selling them. I was interested in this as I have a DMR-E50 too, but I thought maybe the guy has a PC burner at home too so therefore there would be no complaint. Question is has anyone tried DVD-RW in a DMR-E20/30/50???, I would like your comments.:rolleyes: :confused:
     
  2. ferris57

    ferris57
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    DV-RW Deff dont record on the panny machines.
     
  3. leeb

    leeb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    880
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Melton Mowbray
    Ratings:
    +52
    Not sure I'd buy something from this store if that's the extent of their "knowledge"!
     
  4. sdm197

    sdm197
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East London UK.
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks guys for your replys, saves me going out to buy one to try!! One other thing can the DMR-E50 use disks that are sold as higher speed disks DVD-R such as 2x,4x etc. without causing it damage? I do know you have to be very careful with PC drives which is why I ask the question.:confused:
     
  5. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,913
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,201
    I`ve used 2x discs in my HS2 without a problem, But you don`t get the option to record in anything other than 1x speed.
     
  6. sdm197

    sdm197
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East London UK.
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks Carlos, I was worried that they wouldn't work, and that as faster and faster disks come out the Panny wouldn't be able to take them.:D
     
  7. ferris57

    ferris57
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah there's no problem with them. The pioneer recorders need a firmware update however or it can literally burn out the laser the very first time you use one.
     
  8. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Get a job lot of Yellow tops from www.bigpockets.co.uk. Thats what I did on ferris57`s advice. Cheap and meant to be alright quality.
     
  9. sdm197

    sdm197
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East London UK.
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks Ferris and Harris for your prompt replies, I'm new to DVD recording, and have only just got the DMR-E50 so you advice is always welcome:D
     
  10. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,913
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,201
    Just bumping this back up as i`ve had a reliable customer state that he has definately recorded onto a DVD-RW disc on his DMRE50. :confused:

    Has anyone else actually tried this ? Before everybody says it isn`t possible i said the same thing today but this guy is reliable and knows what he`s doing !!
     
  11. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Well I am willing to give it a try. But I am sure it wont work. Are you sure he is not just "Playing" an -rw disc or something.

    This would be big issue and would be in the public domain by now I am sure if it worked. I hope you are right as Ram is the most incompatable format on the planet.

    Anyone with a n E50 got a -rw in their P.C and want to give it a try so we can discount this for sure. Really cant see it working.
     
  12. fozzybear

    fozzybear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a few -RW discs lying around - when I've finished my current recording I'll stick one in my E50 and try it, but I'm pretty doubtful that it'll work.
     
  13. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,913
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,201
    Definately not just playing it back, He is adamant that he has done a recording and finalised the disc then played it in a couple of other players. :confused:
     
  14. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Good stuff fozzy. I wait with interest. But like you. Cant see it working.
     
  15. fozzybear

    fozzybear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the result - the E50 doesn't recognise the DVD-RW (fresh and not formatted) and if you try to record it says the disc is read only. Cannot format the disc as only setup and timer recording options are available. Nice idea, but it didn't work.

    Crash and burn, baby.
     
  16. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    A lot of E20/30/50 users have PC DVD burners to edit and author there recorded titles. As most DVD-RAM burners are now DVD Multi, i.e. DVD-RW, DVD-R and DVD-RAM he is probably copying the contents of the DVD-RAMs to DVD-RW so he can play them on a standalone player.
     
  17. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,913
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,201
    I have asked him this and he definately said he had recorded it on the E50, I`ll wait for him to come in the shop again and question him further.
     

Share This Page

Loading...