1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic DMR-E00H

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Big Al, Nov 26, 2003.

  1. Big Al

    Big Al
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sandhurst Berkshire UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have just been given a fantastic birthday present from my wonderful wife, namely Panasonics superb DMR-E100H. What a fantastic piece of kit, recording quality is fantastic, the time slip function is unbelievable and the SD card slot has been a god send for our digital camera.

    However I have two problem that needs solving which are probably interconnected. I have my Panasonic Tu-DSB30 digibox set up to transmit upstairs, as my wife often watches Sky whilst I watch DVDs. This was the case today, and as I pressed play on the Panasonic the DVD picture overrode sky upstairs.

    Connections are as follows, sky TV out (complete with digi sender) connected to Hitachi.42PD3000 control box with viewing channel set as 6. Sky AV2 connected to Panasonic DMR-E100H to record sky broadcasts. Panasonic DMR-E00H AV1 connected to Hitachi.42PD3000 control box with viewing channel set as 7. However sky sometimes appears on both channels 6 & 7. Is there any way of stopping the Panasonics AV2 sending signals to the digibox?

    Also I seem to be having problems receiving sky picture on the Panasonic via A2. I can get the picture by going into connections settings & choosing ext link I or 2, but then sky appears on every channel, until I change The Hitachi’s channel up or down & back to 7 again, but the sky picture has mysteriously gone.

    Many Thanks in advance for any info

    Big AL
    :clap: :clap:
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Try sky AV1>DMR-E100 AVin DMR E100 AVout>Hiatchi
    Sky AV2> digi sender> upstairs.
    I think the problem is from having both sky AV coonections going into plasma.
    If i understand your post!
    You can also try turning scart control off.
     
  3. cockneyboy

    cockneyboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am thinking of getting this machine, but am not sure whether it is capable of progressive scan. Does anybody know??

    Thanks

    Travis
     
  4. Rolo Tomasi

    Rolo Tomasi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    No progressive scan.
     
  5. cockneyboy

    cockneyboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    do any dvd recorders have it??
     
  6. Big Al

    Big Al
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sandhurst Berkshire UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    3. Hornydragon, Thanks for your reply. Sadly neither option works, I can only connect sky to AV2 . Switching scart control off is ineffective & totally compromises the picture quality on the Hitachi.

    My connection method is exactly as specified by Panansonic. Perhaps
    what I need to do is stop Panasonic’s AV2 returning a signal to Sky AV2.?

    Big Al
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    ah yes that could work, why on earth would they say to do that???
     
  8. Big Al

    Big Al
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sandhurst Berkshire UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Any ideas how to do this then??

    Big Al
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    OK then AL.
    SKy>AV2Panny-Panny AV1>plasma> job done!
    You shouldnt have both sky scarts going to screen anyway.
     
  10. Big Al

    Big Al
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sandhurst Berkshire UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I was thinking more along the lines of keeping my existing scheme, and removing the auto switching return pin in the scart. Any body know which pin to disable. The sky manual says pin 8 is send & recive?
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    search for scart there are loads of diagrams on the web. How do you have it linked????
    Sorry i dont deal with Hitachi plasmas and as such dont know exactly how the inputs work on them.
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Is this really a channel number like BBC 1 analogue???? You should be using AV inputs! If i have wrong end of stick let me know ASAP mate otherwise if you are using RF to feed a 42" plasma Sky you are missing out on so much!!! RGB for a start!
     
  13. Big Al

    Big Al
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sandhurst Berkshire UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Channel 6 is a convienient way of getting to AV2 on Hitachi, channel 7 gets me to AV3 , both of which give excellent RGB.

    What im looking to do is alter the scart between sky & AV2 on the Panasonic, ie I dint want the panasonic to autoswitch back to the Sky box
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Ah ha was worried for a minute, wouldnt be the first time i had come across someone using rf for everything on a plasma!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...