Panasonic DMR-BS850EB - Freesat issues

Marmite47

Novice Member
Hi All, I am new to AVforums, so apologise if this question as been asked in the past !

I have been given the above Freesat recorder, all works fine except for the satellite tuner! yes thats very important but on the + side the blue ray etc works!

Anyway I have tried to tune the Freesat but it's saying no satellite found, a friend has checked all the connections, dish, wiring etc.. and all is good. I would really like to get the Freesat side working any advice? I have seen offers on EBay to repair (but don't really want to send it away) or even repair kits - I have someone competent to do that.

Thanks for any advice received.

Marmite 47

mikej

How long ago was the dish known to be working and correctly aligned and did you have Sky HD or Sky Q ?

Marmite47

Novice Member
Hi Mikej,

I haven't had freesat before so needed to make sure the Panasonic was all ok before having my own dish installed. I tried the machine on a neighbours dish (not Sky), and got the 'no satellite found' message. Also tried on another dish same result - hence I think it's the Panasonic tuner which is not working. The Panasonic say's Astra 2(?) satellite. Unfortunately I am not able to ask the person who gave me the Panasonic when it was last all working ok.

Apologies to all if my replies are not instant, I don't have a smart phone so only pick up replies when I am on my pc.

Thanks

mikej

I'm not an expert on satellite TV, but I do know that if a dish is correctly aligned for Sky, then it'll also be suitable for receiving Freesat. The only possible complication to this is if Sky Q has been previously installed, in which case the LNB may need to be swapped.

Were any of the dishes you've tried so far known to work with Sky HD ? That's the easiest way to know for sure if the satellite tuner on your Freesat PVR is faulty. Do an automatic scan - don't search manually unless you know what you're doing.