1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic dark/light stripes

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by dolph999, Apr 18, 2005.

Tags:
  1. dolph999

    dolph999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello guys,

    I have a Panasonic TX32-PX10 TV. Since I am from central europe (from Slovakia) the marking of TV models are different then in UK. Actually it's a 32" Panasonic with Quintrix F 16:9 screen.

    My problem is in dark (and light) stripes on the screen. Really noticable when the screen goes dark (e.g. the scene is fading out). More then any words are showing the pictures attached.
    I've taken this pictures with my Canon Ixus IIs using ISO400 sensitivity.
    First picture was taken during the day, the second in completely dark room.

    It's noticable in AV and also in regular TV mode. I tried several cables, currently using a scart for 40 EUR, no change... :(

    I'm really disapointed by this TV. Any ideas or similar problems?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mike@#36

    Mike@#36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have the TX32 PL10 which may be very similar. I occasionally get the dark vertical bands but not as bad as the pics you show. Mine sometimes appear whilst watching DVD or Video and usually are corrected by adjusting the Brightness and Contrast.

    Check these settings first and see if adjusting this improves the picture at all. If not it looks like a trip to the Panasonic Doctor.

    Hope this helps
     
  3. dolph999

    dolph999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've just returned from the Pany doctor. In the "ambulance" no bands, nothing... I tried on maximum contrast/brightness! Clear black screen! :confused:
    It should mean that the problem will be in my room/flat, but I can't imagine what can cause these bands. Yes, when I'm reducing the contrast/brightness or switching on the A.I. the bands are not so evident, but still noticable.

    Could it be the power supply?
     
  4. Pug72

    Pug72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +271
    I have a similar prob on my Thomson tv, would love to know what it is.
     
  5. dolph999

    dolph999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    In Panasonic service we used a Thomson DVD. I was really trying to find the bands, but it seemed to be clear. Maybe because of too much light in the testing room (daylight + illumination), or ....

    OK, so i ran a "very comprehensive" test in completely dark room at home :thumbsup:

    The following hardware has been used:

    TV Panasonic TX32PX10
    DVD SONY DVP-585
    DVD Panasonic S-47
    Scart Hama Proclass (40 EUR)
    S-VHS Cable Solid (15 EUR)

    After hooking up various combination, I ran the same test DVD, stopped every time on same scene, where it's fading to black. Then I paused the DVD and took a picture with Canon Ixus IIs, using ISO400 sensitivity. The brightness and contrast were set to cca 50%, A.I. set to off.

    Attached are the pics in the following order:
    1. Sony DVD - Hama Scart
    2. Panasonic DVD - Hama Scart
    3. Sony DVD - Solid S-VHS cable
    4. Panasonic DVD - Solid S-VHS cable
    5. Only TV in AV mode
    6. TV with some Czech channel (black screen caught with still button)

    Conclusion:
    1. The bands are appearing only with DVD
    2. Without any input the screen is clear too
    3. The Panasonic DVD is producing much lighter screen, but with less noticable bands, subjective better image (the pictures are little bit tricky because of ISO400)
    4. Both DVD players are producing better image using the Scart. Hooked up with Panasonic there is one more very soft horizontal line.
    5. I will try to get some really high end scart and compare with these ones.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. dode

    dode
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Ratings:
    +1
    You should check your Brightness setings. I have the same tv and connected to Panasonic S47 - Profigold scart gives me aproximately the same result.
    If i set the brightness to a lower level and activate AI on the TV set the screen is completely black.
    You should also check the picture settings on the dvd player also.
     
  7. spocktra

    spocktra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    worcester
    Ratings:
    +40
    Does the tv have component inputs.Could be worth trying .
     
  8. dode

    dode
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Ratings:
    +1
    No. There are no component imputs. TX32-PX20 has...
     
  9. dolph999

    dolph999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Dode,

    yes, you're right. When I'm reducing the brightness and activating the A.I. the screen is completely black (no bands), but then the picture in DVD mode is too dark.

    But thanks for your reply anyhow!

    Cheers

    dolph
     
  10. dode

    dode
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Ratings:
    +1
    I found a compromise between the two...

    I have a qouestion. Do you know if there is a way to store independent picture setups for the video inputs?
    Someone said that on TX-29PX20 you can do this by adjusting picture on every individual video input then presing the str button.

    I tried on the TX-32PX1o but it doesn't work...
     
  11. dolph999

    dolph999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, I've never tried, but I don't think that our Panny is capable of this feature...
     

Share This Page

Loading...