panasonic d28. is this backlight bleed?

paultownsend

panasonic d28. is this backlight bleed?

im new to led side lit tv's .

last week i returned a lg le4900 due to the case coming apart and having light clouding in each corner. only noticeable when watching movies when there are black bars on the top and bottom of screen.

so i pumped in a few extra pounds and plumped for the panasonic d28 as it was a very expensive set, with good reviews. seemed to be the same set as the d25 but in a different case. For £450 from curries.

on sd freeview its perfect. on full screen xbox its also great.

however when watching movies, when the black bars are present on the top and bottom of the screen, the clouding is back. Just in random blotches along the bottom and top.
i tested it on dark scenes (blade runner) and it does not effect the picture itself. also if i zoom in on the aspect menu to full screen it also creates no issues.

is this just normal operation for led sidelit tv's? and not really classed as bleeding?

hope i made sense!

Paul

Last edited:

paultownsend

pictures! this is on av1 with nothing connected. i must stress. i'm watching 5th gear on iplayer (full screen) and everything looks perfect. all enhancers are off and set up as per the hdtv test set up specs.

side.jpg

abovetop.jpg

sideabove.jpg

Last edited:

vickster

Distinguished Member
Your links are knackered :)

Backlight bleed seems very common on edgelit LEDs unfortunately. If clean blacks are for you, look at plasma but they start at 42"

vickster

Distinguished Member
Looks like a poorly uniform screen but no clear clouding patches? Again, pretty usual with those edgelit chaps

amebix1

Standard Member