Panasonic BDT310

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by SPIKE718, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    Help please. I am considering upgrading my (oldish) Denon for a Pana BDT 210 or 310. I am a bit confused by this statement in a review of the 310 I've just read online.

    "The biggest talking point on the rear panel is the presence of two HDMI outputs. That makes it possible to enjoy 3D pictures and HD audio soundtracks simultaneously if your AV receiver lacks HDMI v1.4 inputs. It's a feature we loved on the BDT300 and we're pleased to see it return. Of course, if your AV receiver boasts HDMI v1.4 inputs then the second output is of little use."

    I currently feed DVD picture direct to my screen via HDMI and its sound to my receiver via optical. Is it safe to assume that this method will still provide as good a sound as is possible from the new Blueray player.

    Any thoughts would be much appreciated
    Thanks
     
  2. thebassman

    thebassman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    All depends what receiver you have. Optical with not give you HD audio, only dvd quality sound.
    The panasonic 310 is designed for passing video (including 3D) to your panel through 1 hdmi port and passing hd audio to your av amp using the other hdmi port.
    This is for people, like me, with an older hdmi amp that does not support hdmi v1.4 standard, i.e. 3d pass through.
    If you have a newer amp then the 210 will suffice.

    cheers

    thebassman
     
  3. skk3

    skk3
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Rushden, Northamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +242
    You may not need 2 HDMIs - consider the 210 or 110 instead...
     
  4. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have a Denon 4310 AV receiver. As far as I can judge from the manual it does not support 3D and I cannot see any reference in the manual to which version of HDMI it has. There is, however, a specific HD HDMI input, which I am assuming (hoping) will give me the HD noises I am looking to take advantage of from the PANA 210 or 310. Clearly I need to do a little more study before I make the commitment. I've read the specs of both the 210 and 310 and the only difference appears to be the twin HDMI ports of the 310. It's just a question of whether I need the second one or if I can utilise the optical port of the 210.
     
  5. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've just re-read the notes from thebassman and I now understand that if I am connecting the PANA 310 direct to the screen the only way I can get HD sound is by using the second HDMI output to the AV receiver. I think I might have go my brain into gear at last.
    Please feel free to tell me if I'm barking.....
     
  6. thebassman

    thebassman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    No, you are not barking, you are spot on.
    You have the much better version of my amp, same era though, so it is not v1.4.
    The only option would be hdmi to panel for video and optical to amp for non hd audio. To me, the audio is the bigger upgrade for hd, so this would not be an option. This is very subjective though.

    cheers

    thebassman
     
  7. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    OK bassman, Many thanks indeed. The 310 it is then. I wonder what they'll be selling for after Christmas??!!
     
  8. thebassman

    thebassman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    I know Amazon uk have just dropped the price to £149.99, comes with Star wars 3 original films on Blu ray. You have to send off for them.
    I ordered mine last night :D

    cheers

    thebassman
     
  9. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    Job done, Thanks for the tip. Order now in.
    Many thanks and Happy Christmas
    Spike
     
  10. Blue.Rocket

    Blue.Rocket
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Breckland Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +26
    Had the 310 MR given as a Xmas Present, now replacing my BD60 MR and 110 3D.
    As I have a pre HDMI Amp I have the audio set up via Optical and the DTS sound is great, But i would be interested to know if there is any real difference in sound of Optical verses HDMI.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  11. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +51
    As thebassman has stated as you can't get HD audio over optical so a hdmi out of the second hdmi socket would give you the benefit of HD sound formats found on most blu rays.
     
  12. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    I hope to receive my BDT310 in the next couple of days so I'm hoping these ancient ears will be able to confirm the actuality of HDMI over Optical for HD sound.
     
  13. Blue.Rocket

    Blue.Rocket
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Breckland Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +26
    I still unsure of how much sound difference there will be......
     
  14. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    Got my new BDT310. Trying to connect up. OK to the Screen via HDMI but can't get my DENON4310 Amp to take the audio in from the Secondary HDMI. Any ideas on relevant settings from the 310 would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Spike69
     
  15. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +51
    Mine turned up today too. Hope I can get mine connected to my old onkyo 905 amp ok. Let me know if u figure it out!
     
  16. thebassman

    thebassman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi Spike718 and Sly

    I set mine up the other day with my Denon 1910 as follows;

    For the cables; connect the "AV out main" to your panel, connect AV out sub" to your amp, both via hdmi.

    In the blu ray player menu;

    go to setup, player settings, sound, digital audio output;
    Dolby D/ etc, set as bitstream
    DTS/ etc, set as bitstream
    BD-Video secondary audio, set to off

    Display; HDMI(SUB) V.off LED control, set to on at first just to check its working properly. This will display in Orange on the player display. I went back in and set it to off afterwards, it just turns the LED off, it can be quire distracting when your watching a film.

    TV/ Device connection; HDMI connection,
    HDMI(SUB) output mode, set to V.OFF
    HDMI audio output, set to On

    I also switched off the Touch free sensor, this is under the others menu. I done this as i have a TiVo box sat on top.

    I am still unsure at this time about setting the TV system to either NTSC or PAL, it defaults to NTSC, also a bit unsure about switching on the 24p output. Maybe someone else can answer this.

    I have an LG 50PZ550.

    I hope this helps, feel free to ask anything else.:smashin:

    cheers

    thebassman
     
  17. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi bassman
    I've tried the above, still with no joy. I'm getting a good pic and sound with the HDMI link to the display, the the audio downfeed from that to the 4310 is good also. The 4310 also has an additional HD input, do you reckon it's worth trying that? I could have dodgy HDMI (new) cable I suppose.
    cheers
    SPIKE718
     
  18. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    SORTED!!!!!!
    The art of messing with cables at the back of the amp when looking at it from the front, escapes me!!!
    There never would be a great deal of success in connecting the output of the player to the output of the amp!!

    Many thanks for your help bassman
    I'll put in a review in due course.

    cheers
    Spike718
     
  19. thebassman

    thebassman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi Spike
    glad you sussed that out, because i have been really scratching my head:smashin:

    Let me know if you suss out the NTSC/ PAL and the 24p output modes.

    cheers

    thebassman
     
  20. Lezman

    Lezman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +432
    Mines arrived too. 24p works fine on mine. Also unsure of the difference, but obviously my screen accepts it as it works!
     
  21. thebassman

    thebassman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    Cool, thanks for the info.
    Anyone know about the NTSC or PAL settings, i think the default on the player is NTSC. :confused:

    cheers

    thebassman
     
  22. Lezman

    Lezman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +432
    Default on mine is NTSC also which I thought was a little weird. Doesn't matter if your playing HD material I suppose, but its odd that the up scaling resolution is a separate option.
     
  23. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've set mine to PAL because that's the UK standard. I believe the reason for the upscale option is so that you can choose either the screen OR the player to provide the upscaling. Makes sense to me - but I'm not sure if I'm right.

    Anyone know about 24P???
     
  24. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
  25. thebassman

    thebassman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi
    After a bit of experimenting, i have now set mine to PAL and 24p, this seems like the best settings.
    I have had some good results with 3d and 2d Blu rays.
    Although the worst film i have watched is Harry P Deathly hallows pt2, seemed very poor quality in places :thumbsdow, although some scenes were very 3d and crystal clear. I have put this down to just a poor quality transfer.

    cheers

    thebassman
     
  26. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'll have ago with the 24p setting - although I don't quite see the sense of it. I'll re-read the Wikipedia document. As for audio - I'm currently connecting the HDMI(SUB) to a standard HDMI input of the Denon 4310. I note that there is also an HDP input. I'm still trying to figure out wht HDP means. Any ideas/
    Cheers
    Spike
     
  27. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    Another look at Wikipedia and the startling discovery that HDP means High Definition Player (BlueRay, etc.). I'm not sure if this will be suitable for sound only. Suck it and see I suppose
    Spike
     
  28. thebassman

    thebassman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16

    Sometimes things are too obvious :D As you say Spike718, give it a try, if it doesn't work you can always switch it back. I haven't got the HDP input on my amp, mines only the 1910 though.

    I am not sure i understand the logic of the 24p setting either, it didn't seem to make the picture any worse though. :laugh:

    Good luck and let me know how you get on.

    cheers

    thebassman
     
  29. SPIKE718

    SPIKE718
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckingham. U.K
    Ratings:
    +6
    HDP now connected and it's fine. I THINK it sounds better ut we'll see. Just been watching an HD disk of Yellowstone Park. Awesome.
    Spike
     
  30. sheep2469

    sheep2469
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    24p or 24 fps (instead of the standard dvd which is 60 fps), it means you can watch the movie in the frame rate as it was recorded so you get that cinema experience

    As with you i have an lg 50pz570 and the panasonic bluray 310, i have an onkyo tx-nr609, so i have one hdmi from bluray to tv and one from bluray to reciever i had some problems with 24p when setting up because the a/v sync was out, i sorted it in the end, i didnt realise that because i am using two cables one for audio one for video i set my receiver to 1080p not 1080p/24p, even tho my receiver is only dealing with the sound from the bluray, i needed to tell it i was playing content in 24p so it would set the sync right.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice