Panasonic and LG

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by Dark_Wolf, Oct 17, 2005.

  1. Dark_Wolf

    Dark_Wolf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all :hiya:

    I have been lurking here for quite some time and decided to join up. I think this forum is just great. Lots of good tips and information. :D I've followed up many A/Vforums here in Finland but nothing really happens there. Just arguments between LCD's and Plasmas and which one's better :boring:

    Right. I've been planning to get my first plasma and ended up for two models (suprise suprise) Panasonic 42" 500 and LG-42PXR4 or R5. Dunno if you lot know that model of LGs? I think its the later model of LG PY10. I was convinced that Panny 500 is for me but happened to see LG and a 720 demo running and I wasn't so sure anymore. Having seen that one I think I've finally found my kinda plasma. :D

    Anyways just wanted share this one with ya :rotfl:

    sorry my english btw ...:suicide:
     
  2. docnaz

    docnaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Dark Wolf. Hope not too dark in Finland at present!
    Assuming that your two screens are both HD ready, I will pass on to you what I consider to be the best advice I ever received via this forum; buy the one whose picture quality suits your eye ie the one that you think just looks magnificent.
    Hope helpful
     
  3. darren_eaf

    darren_eaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +30
    Just to let you know that the LG is not HD ready, just HD compatible.

    This means that it will accept a HD signal, but display a standard picture.

    Hope this helps in your decision.
     
  4. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    totaly wrong-both panels are HD ready LG-42PXR4 and 42PX5R (or PX5D in UK).You are mixing with PX4RV and this one is indeed HD compatable.
     
  5. darren_eaf

    darren_eaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +30
    Sorry about that. Why do they have to make the model numbers so alike?
     
  6. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    Which one you saw with a demo?
     
  7. Dark_Wolf

    Dark_Wolf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Demo was running on a LG-42PX4R screen. Panny 500 was few meters away but it had a weak digital tv running so couldn't do a fair comparison. Few weeks ago I tested the panny with DVD's they had ->LOTR fellowship and it did look great but I think the picture could have been even better. Then I realised that they had connected the dvd player with a normal (cheap) scart and wasn't sure that they had even connected that to a RPG slot. :eek:

    - Yes LG has too many different models I think :rolleyes: And not mentioning different names to those in different countries. And that "R" model is the better and HD-ready model. And it's cheaper than Panasonic 500 model :D

    - No, it's not too dark yet here in southern Finland but in November - December it'll be. But when the snow falls down it won't be so bad :D
     
  8. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    Yes the LG-42PX4R is also available here in Holland-it looks fantastic, but I think the PX5R (or PX5D in UK) has even more possibilities (x studio etc.)
    I have PX3RV and it's great. You being in Finland probably speak also Swedish? (I know many people there are learning it as a second language)
    Then maybe this one is interesting for you it's is for the SD panels, but anyway
    :):http://nordic.lge.com/sv/filedown.d...0101/42PX4RV/&filename=HB07_05_Plasmatest.pdf
     
  9. paul071

    paul071
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hey guys,

    with regard to "later model of LG PY10"....: The new PY series carries the name PY2R in 50 and 60 inch. Apparently there will be no 42" model available in Europe... I've seen these screen at the IFA exhibition in Berlin this summer, they seem to be a great piece of technology.. I'm waiting for them to appear in shops - according to LG they should be available right now all across Europe.

    Ciao!
     
  10. Dark_Wolf

    Dark_Wolf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes we have to study :mad: swedish in Finland though I don't have much use for it. Thanks, I looked it through and did even understand some of it :clap:
    Now if I could find a test where they'd be testing 1024x768 panels :rolleyes:

    LG-42PX4R as I understand is the same panel as LG-42PX5R except color difference and that memory card thing.
     
  11. Lionheart

    Lionheart
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How does the cost of the 2 measure up in your country DW...is there much difference ?.....btw welcome to the forums :)
     
  12. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    Dark Wolf,
    If you had also Greek at shool :D then maybe this is something for you :hiya: http://www.hxos.gr/show_page.php?page_id=825&cat_id=37
    There is a very poor computer translation here:http://avforum.no/forum/showpost.php?p=283666&postcount=12
     
  13. colindale

    colindale
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ??LG-42PX4R as I understand is the same panel as LG-42PX5R except color difference and that memory card thing.??

    Correction:

    LG-42PX4R as I understand is the same panel as LG-42PX5R except 1024x768 resolution and that memory card thing, plus 8000-1 as against 10000-1 for the LG 42PX4R. :smashin:
     
  14. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    no colindale,the PX4R is also HD ready.They sell it here in Holland too.
     
  15. colindale

    colindale
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, I understood that was taken for granted, being 1024x768 resolution. :D
     
  16. CheekyKid

    CheekyKid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    Selfridges has the PX5 for £1800.
     
  17. Dark_Wolf

    Dark_Wolf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't know the price for LG-42PX5R. Haven't seen that one in Finland yet. I've only seen "live" LG-42PX4R panel and that was 2800€. Strangely in Germany PX5R panel seems to be cheaper than PX4R :eek:

    I think I have to order mine (near future) from Germany since they offer plasmas much cheaper price than in Finland :D

    and both LG-42PX5R&LG-42PX4R have a 1024x768 resolution.

    - Gee, my Greek is a little bit rusty :D

    I think I'm going to go to see PX4R plasma again this weekend. I'm try to somehow compare it to the Panasonic-500 model if it's possible. Have to take few DVD's with me and test the panel :D
     
  18. colindale

    colindale
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Does the Pana 500 have a built in HD tuner?.
     
  19. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    The 500 has a tuner, yes. In various countries it has a digital terretrial tuner too. That depends on where you are and if it's worth bothering with. Bought from Germany, there will be no digital tuner, afraid I have no idea on Digital TV in Finland. Of course if you have satellite you may find no use whatsoever for a tuner in a plasma. It might just sit there and add complication. In UK, and I guess many countries, the increasing trend is for 2 tuner PVR satellite/cable tuners, very often HD. The 2 tuners in the plasma are then as much use as tits on a bull....
     
  20. Dark_Wolf

    Dark_Wolf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay. I saw LG-42PX4R with a demo DVD from a player which was attached via Composite cable. Did saw some "traces" of pixels on the screen when the camera was moving sideways or in fast moving scenes but still the picture quality was :clap: l :thumbsup: I was pretty close like 2-meters away (no more room behind). I took my friend with me to see this panel but he wasn't convinced :eek: He thought that the plasma technology isn't good enough or not ready for his needs... :confused: Think he's gonna stick with his Panasonic 32" few years...

    Before I go and spend 2800euros on this panel I think I'm going see the new KDF-E50A11E rear projection tv first. Since there has been lots of discussion of this tv and its reasonable price I want to see it in action. Hopefully you plasma guys forgive me this :D

    - think pana 500 has here also 2-tuners...
     
  21. CheekyKid

    CheekyKid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    That's what I saw on the Panny and i didnt like it at all as it was quite obvious :thumbsdow
     
  22. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    You sure it was connected with composite cable? Yellow single cable plug?
    Hum...not the best way to show the potential of the screen I think.
    Don't think rear projection tv it will be better,but you are right-check it with your own eyes and buy what you like more :)
     
  23. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    I think that in Belgium they use also very much terrestrial digital TV-in Holland 99% of the houses has cable as a standard and the digital TV over the cable is free (you need to get only digital box for less then 100 euros and watch). There is also digital TV over the air, but the quality is less then a cable or satellite-I guess there is not enough bandwidth for a good bit rate signals. But the only use of twin tuner is that you can view PIP from two sources e.g. sat. and DVD or game console and HTPC etc....
     
  24. Dark_Wolf

    Dark_Wolf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well it didn't fortunetly bother me that much. Watching a quality dvd movie from a right distance might solve that problem but still... :confused:

    Yeah. Somehow having a 50" screen with only 1900euros does appeal to me :D

    oh...I didn't check the cables. Salesman just attached the dvdplayer while I was talking to my friend...
     
  25. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Stainway, you'll have to explain to me in words of 1 syllable how 2 tuners helps you see 2 external sources like Sat and DVD etc. 2 different over the air channels is all you can do with twin tuners. I don't know how it is in Holland, but here in UK I have a job to find 1 channel with anything I want to watch, let alone 2 at once!

    Guys, you 2 looking at the various options, Stainway is bang on the button, you can't tell anything from a demo with composite feed. I very much hope you will do much better. I daresay the hesitant friend was right, it looked moderately crap, nothing to do with the plasma either. RPTV is certainly bigger and maybe better PQ for the money, but only if you are sitting in the 'sweet spot' and only if you don't mind the additional bulk. Wall mounting is the big plasma USP, then it takes up no space in your room.
     
  26. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    Yes MAW, you are right, but when there are 2 tuners there is also Picture in Picture and on the LG this PIP is working with different input sources as well as with two different TV programs. It’s not the most important function, but can be useful.
     
  27. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Sure, but you can do PinP with different sources without the hassle of 2 tuners. My PHD8 does this with no tuner at all.
     
  28. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    Yes you can do also lots of other things without tuner or something else, but I am speaking about the LG-their single tuner plasmas do not have PIP function.PHD8 is not designed to be used as a TV, but as a panel and this is a different market.
     
  29. Dark_Wolf

    Dark_Wolf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yes...it's really :eek: confusing. Many computer stores (in Finland at least) are selling plasma panels and many of them do not have a tuner(s) and are ment to be used as computer monitors or displays for other purposes... :eek: I once studied specs of one of these panels and didn't even notice that it didn't have tuner... :rolleyes:

    As for PIP that doesn't affect my decision...
     
  30. SIMON T

    SIMON T
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does The 42px4r Work Ok In England If Its A French Screen And What Would The Guarantee With It ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...