panasonic alignment

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by serge, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. serge

    serge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    255
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    worcester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi I have given my th50pz70 to a friend and he has started to use the freeview built in
    i only used it on hdmi only and the screen was perfect on freeview built in the full screen does not align on right side causing a feint green line on dark images
    can you go into service and move screen a few mil to fill gap
    hope you can help
     
  2. BJQ1972

    BJQ1972
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +465
    I would guess that he has overscan turned off. For SD sources such as Freeview it is often best to turn overscan on which would hide the green line.
     
  3. serge

    serge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    255
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    worcester
    Ratings:
    +2
    thanks
    we have turned overscan on
    it does work but i prefered overscan off
    i take it its the only way
     
  4. serge

    serge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    255
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    worcester
    Ratings:
    +2
    is there a way in the service menu to re align screen ??
     
  5. MrBungle2005

    MrBungle2005
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +99
    I have the PZ80 and had to use overscan for SD pics to avoid any lines at the edge. I honestly don't think it matters that much with SD material.
     
  6. m8internet

    m8internet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Assuming Overscan is Off
    Select Freeview and go to either BBC1 or BBC News
    Is this worse?

    In the top elft hand corner and along the top to the middle are white and black bars visible?
    If so, then turn Overscan to On (for this source)

    You can still watch other sources with Overscan set to Off
    Select the source, then set Overscan to Off

    I too have Overscan set to off, and I prefer to see the entire picture it means there is a small portion of the screen is unused, and is more visible on BBC1 and BBC News

    Also, set Aspect to 4:3 then switch channel
    This should then set the picture correctly to wide / 16:9, unless the source is 4:3
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice