1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic AE700 - Should I Upgrade to Component From Scart

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Monkeyboylee, Aug 2, 2005.

1. Monkeyboylee

Monkeyboylee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    I have been using a Panasonic AE700 for several months now and love it.

I use it for movies - from my Panasonic DMR-E50 recorder via rgb scart and also use my xbox via rgb scart into the dvd player and subsequently through the dvd player connection.

The dvd recorder does not have component out (only scart), but I am thinking about replacing it with a recorder/player with component and use a component cable instead will I notice much difference?

Also, would it be even better if the player was hdmi as well?

Cheers

2. Siamese Cat

Siamese Cat

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +127
    I've tried both the RGB (through scart) and component from my Panasonic DMR E-85 to my projector and there's no doubt that the component is better but not so much better in it's own right to justify a new dvd recorder.

Most DVD recorders are competent but not exceptional DVD players, if you want to send a better signal to your projector you might be better thinking in terms of a DVD player. A dvd player at £200 is going to give you a better picture than a dvd recorder at the same price but this would be more down to the diffence in the calibre of the machines as players than the slight but worthwhile difference between RGB and component.

Yes you do want HDMI as well.

Have at look at the DVD site to see what everyone fancies. (Samsung?)

Go and have a look at the posts on the Oppo!!!

3. fallwood

fallwood

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6