1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PANASONIC AE700 and hidef

Discussion in 'TVs' started by paulmcp2403, Oct 27, 2005.

Tags:
  1. paulmcp2403

    paulmcp2403
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +117
    folks,

    how do I get an nvida 6800 grpahiscs card to show this as hidef on my projector ?

    I am doing it and it looks poor....as if it's scaling.

    I have set the resolution to the required hi def 720p....but it still looks poor....

    could this be because of my hdmi to dvi 5metre lead ?

    I doubt it but any help greatfully appreicated :O)
     
  2. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Is the projector showing it properly in the menus?
     
  3. bad robot

    bad robot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +349
    My guess is this is your problem, try a VGA cable instead they work much better over long distances and VGA offers a good quality image. Youd need a really good perhaps much more expensive DVI cable to work.

    Im running over 12 metres all hidden behind stud walls and it runs fine even in 1920x1080 desktop mode.
     
  4. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +490
    VGA quality depends on the graphics card. That from my laptop doesn't look too good on my AE700 mainly because it can only do 1024x768.

    My HTPC has an ATI Radeon 9250 & has a great picture using a 5m DVI->HDMI cable. I got my cable from Lindy & it's extremely good quality & was delivered by courier next day. However I note that Lindy UK is charging considerably more than Lindy France for the same cable. I was very happy to pay just 26.95 Euros for a cable that the Brits have to pay 39.99 pounds i.e. more than double. The UK catalogue does say the cable is Video & Audio but clearly as it's DVI one end it can't be & in any case has the same product number

    http://www.lindy.com/fr/catalog/14/04/02c/index.php
    http://www.lindy.com/uk/catalog/14/04/02c/index.php
     
  5. paulmcp2403

    paulmcp2403
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +117
    cheers folks
     
  6. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    I have a 5m DVI cable to my AE500 which is unbranded and I have no image problems with it, quality is identical to VGA.
     
  7. paulmcp2403

    paulmcp2403
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +117
    hi nigel my real qustion is - is it a true hidef piccy ?

    ie* is your ae700 projector recognising a tru high def signal in its menu system...?

    If it is I will try lindy for a 7 metre cable....


    word on the street is that hdmi is very very unstable at that sort of length....

    :O)
     
  8. BUFFY FAN

    BUFFY FAN
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +1
    I know this isn't quite the same but I have my Panny AE700 conected to my Denon 3910 DVD player through a 10m QED HDMI. The DVD player is upscaling to 720p and the picture is amazing even though I know it's not true high def. So I don't think it is the projectors fault is what I'm trying to say.
     
  9. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +490
    Yes & yes.
    I am using a humble ATI Radeon 9250 as my graphics card with the latest drivers & simply select 1280x720 as my screen resolution.

    Your problem sounds like a driver problem I suggest that you download the latest drivers from the Nvidia web site.

    Another thought. What Hi Def material are you getting the poor picture with? Does the Windows desktop look OK? If you are playing DVD or HDTV .ts files then it could be a problem with your MPEG2 CODEC. The Nvidia Purevideo DVD decoder is very good & well matched to your card. If you don't have it then you can download a 30-day trial from the Nvidia web site.
     

Share This Page

Loading...