1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic Ae500 or Z2?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by dan_wade, Dec 4, 2003.

1. dan_wade

dan_wade

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im kinda new to projectors, but was hoping to get a one for christmas. By budget is around £1500. After a little reaearch, i was going to go for the AE300 (the fact that it got projector of the year award helped a little too).

Ive only found out that the AE500 model was coming out in the last few days. From what i can gather, it will only be slightly more expensive than the 300 model. The features look great. Everyone seems to be bigging up the Z2 projector though at the mo.

Can anyone put some views down about which would be the better choice. Im basicaly gonna be using it for DVD playback, PC, SKY, and my Xbox/ps2.

Oh, and can anyone tell me when the AE500 hits our shores. Is the Z2 already out?

Cheers,
    Dan.

2. dan_wade

dan_wade

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where is the cheapest UK place to buy a Z2?
    The cheapest ive seen it is for about £1400

3. Wasabi

Wasabi

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    SBC (Swedish Born Chinese)/lived in UK since 96, C
    Ratings:
    +32
    Preliminary reports from avsforum seems to indicate that Z2 gives a touch better value in terms of picture performance than AE500 (using Jap import units), but we are really talking about being really detailed here.