1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic AE500 for £1,080 in Germany - is this a good deal?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by dave48, Jan 12, 2004.

  1. dave48

    dave48
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just seen I can get the AE500 for just a bit over a grand here in Germany - is this a good deal? Any ideas what this baby would be like driven from a PC? From my tests to date I've always got best results from using a VGA input from a PC.
     
  2. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think my PC gives a much better image than my component DVD player. But, my DVD player is a budget model and does have slight ringing around the image.
    If I could afford a £500 model I'm sure there wouldn't be too much in it, apart from the pixel mapping etc.
    As for the AE500 in Germany....
    That is a very good price - buy it :)

    Chris
     
  3. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    A good HCPC & a little care will yield better pictures than practically any DVD player, even those over £1k. Not to mention its scaling/deinterlacing abilities for Sky etc.

    Agree, that's a good price for the AE500 but it's not uncommon for PJs to sell for less (often, far less :eek:) on the continent, especially in Germany.

    :smoke:
     
  4. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,827
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +526
    wherabouts in germany is this deal to be had??
     
  5. dave48

    dave48
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +2
    Have a look here: http://www.geizhals.at/deutschland/?cat=beam

    This is a good German price comparison website, click on a PJ and it shows the cheapest places you can buy it over the net. For some reason the 500 doesn't seem to be much more expensive than the 200??

    It is quite tempting - the only downside I can see is that it doesn't do a full PC screen (e.g. 1024 x 768) which I had sort of got used to from playing with a DLP PJ from the office.
     
  6. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nothing wrong with 1280x720 for PC use :)
     
  7. dave48

    dave48
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +2
    Do you mean set the PC resolution to that (which my Radeon 9000 won't do, only 1280 x 768), or just ignore the top and bottom inch of the screen which you won't be able to see?
     
  8. pinkerton

    pinkerton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ealing (London)
    Ratings:
    +3
    Are there any issues to consider with importing a AE500 from Germany? IE duty, voltage ETC?
     
  9. KeithO

    KeithO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Erding, Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +214
  10. dave48

    dave48
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +2
    The only difference between what you get in Germany and in the UK is the plug(!) Most kit these days comes with multi-language documentation and software - although it is worth checking the OSD is not in German :)

    It is true that few places accept credit cards, and not all ship outside Germany. Germany has some of the most consumer-friendly online shopping laws I know of (e.g. you can send back anything you purchased online within two weeks, for any reason, and the retailer is obliged to refund your money and your shipping costs). I don't know whether this is also applicable for overseas shipments - you need to ask.

    There should be no duty or any extra costs - as long as you have paid VAT in one EU country, this is ok.
     
  11. pinkerton

    pinkerton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ealing (London)
    Ratings:
    +3
  12. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    but be aware that there are reports of this machine not being one bit happy with 1280x720 50Hz......

    ad
     
  13. dave48

    dave48
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +2
    Those prices are all including VAT (I don't think you are allowed to advertise prices without VAT in Germany except for business customers).

    What's the story on it not being happy at 1280 x 720?
     
  14. pinkerton

    pinkerton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ealing (London)
    Ratings:
    +3
    Website doesnt go into too much detail about how to pay in advance, do you reckon debit card direct to there account?
     
  15. fama

    fama
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    probably bank transfer with the bank usually charging a crazy fee
    in my case £20
    i bought a year ago a sharp xv z90 from hificomponents
    apart from being slow they were ok and answered all emails
    delivery was deut.poste then ending in the hands of parcelforce
    technikdirekt. take cc.
    prices include vat no duty is payable
    i you look at
    http://www.geizhals.at/deutschland/a72032.html
    youll see other sites sell this some may take cc
    the sharp can be had for just over £1200
    bargain ?
     
  16. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2

    Adam, What do you mean by this?
    Is there a problem with this resolution via a pc?

    Cheers bud

    Chris
     
  17. dave48

    dave48
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah, what's this all about, it's got me worried now ... I was planning on driving the thing from my Radeon 9000 .... This doesn't go as low as 50Hz .... I'm confused .....
     
  18. pinkerton

    pinkerton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ealing (London)
    Ratings:
    +3
    Well I've gone and placed an order, Am I mad or what? got to send them the money now!
    Better be alot better than my AE100.
    Dont test the water, jump right in!!
     
  19. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    Pinkerton, I like you also have the AE100 and will probably get a AE500 if all goes well.

    Which of the german companies did you buy from in the end?

    Also, i noticed on the order form at hificomponents. "German VAT @ 16%". is that additional to the euro cost or Included?

    Cheers
    Anim
     
  20. pinkerton

    pinkerton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ealing (London)
    Ratings:
    +3
    Placed the order via hificomponents.de, Price does include VAT.
    All I got to do is send them the money, thats the painfull part.
    I promised myself I would stick with my AE100 for a good while, but what the hell, might as well sell it while its still worth something.
     
  21. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    The report was on avs which related to something on sweedish forums (somethign liek that) and as far as i can recall, it was with the pc that the problem was reported..... I will go and dig it up

    ad
     
  22. KeithO

    KeithO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Erding, Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +214
    pinkerton, you can probably just go to your bank and transfer the money. But you might need to get hold of the BIC and IBAN numbers from HiFi Components first. You'll need these to do an international transfer. They'll probably charge you for the transfer too.

    Within Germany it's a lot easier...just an uberweisung from bank to bank quoting the reference number.

    Good luck though!
     
  23. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    try here for the report on 50Hz...... it isnt what i thought, just a single guy reporting so i dont know how valid it is

    ad
     
  24. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2

    Pinks,
    DOn't worry. I am going to order one in a few months and if it isn't a quantum leap in difference to my AE100 I will eat my own shorts :)

    But I would love to demo one...any Idea's who's demoing this unit?

    C
     
  25. ChrisHS

    ChrisHS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Re AE500 50Hz
    Digging through the german manual it does have 1280x720 60Hz but no 50Hz. It does do most PC formats though.
    The snipped resoloution page is here
    http://www.cancer.plus.com/AE500Res.gif
    Odd that it doesn't show/do a slower 50Hz.

    AE500 Purchase
    I've ordered mine from http://www.technikdirekt.de.
    €1657 + €20 postage. 2 weeks delivery time.
    Fairly easy purchase as it can be done in english mostly.
    For the missing bits I used http://babelfish.altavista.com/ to translate.
    Some of the ways that they phrase things are a bit confusing eg you have to agree for their carrier to collect the AE500 from them on your behalf and deliver it to you.
    They also wanted ID faxed or jpg emailed to them of creditcard front and photo ID. I used my passport, they were happy with that.

    Really good explanation of the clever bits in the PJ here
    http://www.panasonic.ca/English/audiovideo/television/HomeCinema/features.asp

    Bigger picks of the PJ sockets here in a review.
    http://www.audioenz.co.nz/2004/panasonic_ae500.shtml

    Chris
    ~~~~~
     
  26. DJW

    DJW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pinkerton

    Another AE100 owner waiting for your report back. Good on ya for going for it

    :smashin:
     
  27. NoDad

    NoDad
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    508
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Mids.
    Ratings:
    +25
    Pinkerton.....ChrisHS,

    Thanks guys for testing these sources out. I was just about to purchase Z2 but AE500 at this price is GREAT and virtually identical (except lens shift, which I can live without).

    Let us know how you get on with your prospective purchases from Germany. Paying by credit card gives you some sort of cover against problems, so I'm happy to do the same.

    This looks like a good way to combat rip off Britain.

    BTW, are you sure there is a scart connector on the model you are purchasing, I've seen versions on the web without it?
     
  28. ChrisHS

    ChrisHS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    As SCART is a european standard way of plugging AV kit together the German one should have it.

    I thought we're all supposed to be using component now ;-). It's not like I'm going to use the audio in/out from the projector that scart would give me.

    I hope it arrives this week, probably next one though.

    The cover a CC gives is that the CC company is just as liable as the company that your buying from. So if they dissapear you still get your money back. In germany there is a 2 week return it for refund protection and it says this (in german) in the confirmation e-mail, so it must apply to me too.

    This might be of interest also
    http://www.shootandshow.co.uk/panasonic-deadpixel.htm

    Panasonic Spec for dropped pixels:

    - Up to four blue is classed as acceptable anything over is replaced.
    - Up to one red is classed as acceptable anything over is replaced.
    - If you have one green it is unacceptable and will be replaced.
     
  29. sainthalo

    sainthalo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just typed a long explanation of s75 consumer credit act 1974 and it disappeared without posting.. grrrr ...anyway cc companies standard practice is to deny s75 applies to overseas purchases. DTi had a test case a few years ago but the cc co's settled the cases to avoid a precedent (they always do this). Now DTi have declaratory proceedings in the high court against tesco. your cc company are likely to deny liability at this time for overseas purchases. that said you just need to issue a claim form for them to back down.

    can anyone tell me if the uk warranty is 12 months as i suspect?

    its 24 in Germany but will panny uk accept this and service the pj if required?

    cheers
     
  30. DVDcake

    DVDcake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Invading Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +3

Share This Page

Loading...