1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic AE500 and Sky+?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by armxz02, Apr 15, 2004.

  1. armxz02

    armxz02
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ok Guys, I needs some advice...

    In the very near future I will need to connect my Panasonic AE500 (located in the new upstairs loft) to my Sky+ v1 box (located downstairs - front room).

    What is the best method to connect both of these devices and maintaining a reasonable picture quality?

    Assumptions -

    Sky+ box is already connected downstairs to my Marantz amp via optical (and I assume the picture is coming from the scart)

    My Denon 3803 is also located in the loft with my ae500

    I am prepared to install the necessary cables from downstairs into the loft.

    Can anyone recommend the best solution ?

    How have you guys connected Sky+ with your Ae500?

    Help :lease:
     
  2. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    you always use the s-video output from your sky + box to connect to your ae500. I would have thought that this would be your best option
    :)

    Or you could get a second sky box for the loft and then just connect via rgb scart I think that this would give you the best picture.

    How far is the cable run going to be if you connect form the downstairs sky box to the loft?
     
  3. armxz02

    armxz02
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi Samir

    The distance between the rooms is probably approx 20-25ft

    Does S-video only carry video signals or both video and audio?

    How can I forward the audio to my Denon 3803 receiver?

    I'm not too keen on paying for another Sky box/subsciption

    :confused:
     
  4. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    S-video only carries a video signal.

    To carry the audio signal to your 3803 just use a set of phono cables

    10m S-video & 10m set of phonos would be fine

    :)
     
  5. squealer

    squealer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I personally found RGB Scart to be way clearer and brighter than S-Video (over a 10mtr run) - no way I would use S-Video after seeing the difference.

    The only hassle is having to have a switch box so you can view RGB thru normal TV as well.
     
  6. armxz02

    armxz02
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks Guys :clap:
     
  7. lonestar

    lonestar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    maghera, n.ireland
    Ratings:
    +3
    ... or how about taking scart from skybox to a rgb-convertor and then component from rgb-convertor to pj ?
     
  8. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Or simpler to use scart distrubution amp and gain two RGB scart outputs, one goes to local TV other to projector upstairs (10m decent scart no probs).

    For audio you could break it out from the scart lead (messy tho), run a 10m 2 RCA lead, or run a 10m optical from the optical output of the Marantz amp downstairs giving DD upstairs too :) (worth checking that the Marantz will actually do this first!)
     
  9. armxz02

    armxz02
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +4
    Advice appreciated, thanks!
     
  10. Mark P

    Mark P
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry to hijack this thread but i have a question that someone may beable to answer.

    Currently i have a scart going from my sky box into a john sims convertor, then a svideo lead out the john sims box into my pte100.
    When i upgrade to a sky+ box in the near future, will this set up using the john sims box still give me a better picture than taking my s video lead staright out of sky+ box and into my projector?

    thanks, mark
     

Share This Page

Loading...