Panasonic AE1000 judder

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by ST2007, Sep 21, 2007.

  1. ST2007

    ST2007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi :),

    A few days ago when setting up the AE1000 connected to a Mediaserver with a nVidia 8800 video card (DVI-HDMI connection), I noticed that when playing SD DVD's I got motion judder.

    I looked at the settings of the card and it was set to 1080p60. When changing to 576p, the judder disappeard but the PQ was not so good. I then tried to change the card to 1080p24 but the Panasonic always showed 1080p60 and the image was still juddering (is that a word?).

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks,

    ST
     
  2. TechieSarah

    TechieSarah
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +218
    I got the panny and can confirm that my BDP-S300 standalone player set to 1080p/24 shows as 1080p/24 on the ptae1000 menu screen.

    If it helps ;)
     
  3. stripe

    stripe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +123
    Is possible that the 576P refresh rate should be 50Hz, my 900 judders when running at 720P/60 but runs ok at 720p/50 unless it a region 1 disk.
     
  4. dun_buyin

    dun_buyin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    I think Stripe is right. 576p will be 50Hz. Only HD material will be 24fps and show as 1080p24 on the pj. 480p is 60hz I think so if you are passing a 1080 60hz from 576 50hz material I guess there is either some overhead on the conversion on the media server causing the judder or it is a 3:2 type pull down issue (I think that is what they call it). Someone more knowledgeable may be able to explain better or correct me.
     
  5. ST2007

    ST2007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your inputs. 576p is indeed 50Hz (and it can be confirmed through the onscreen menu of the AE1000). I was trying to get an universal setup for either SD or HD content.

    When I first put a DVD disc I noticed the juddering and tried to set up the mediaserver accordingly but to no avail. A 1080p50 configuration would be ideal (I think) to setup the nVidia card but I can't get that option to work.:(

    ST
     
  6. KelvinS1965

    KelvinS1965
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    17,077
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +8,025
    I've had mine working at 1080p 50Hz, but that was an older CCC driver and I'm literally just fitting a new 2600Pro graphics card which requires a later driver. I'll let you know if I can get it to work again, but I can definatley say that the AE1000 showed 1080/50 in the menu when it was working, if that helps.

    Funny thing is that I got juddering with BBC HD @ 50Hz but not at 60Hz, be interesting to see what happens with the new card and drivers......
     
  7. ST2007

    ST2007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's good to know, thanks. That means all I have to do is to sort out the nVidia's output so that is set to 1080p50 (which I have been unable to do). I went to the refresh options on the settings menu of the mediacenter and set it up to 50Hz, but it still shows 1080p60 on the AE1000 menu... :confused:

    ST
     

Share This Page

Loading...